In the tropics!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Inn The Tropics
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Monday I went to the Rialto Tower and climbed up to the top (ok in the lift!) the view was amazing there and was a lovely way to finish my trip to Melbourne. That night I cooked dinner for Sarah, Maria, Karen and Sinead and then Sarah came hopme with four lovely glittery(!) cupcakes for me with candles on them to celebrate my upcoming birthday, we just vegged for the night and watched tv, then I'd a really restless nights sleep.

Got up to say goodbye to Sarah on Tuesday morning. And then left Melbourne at 12pm and caught a flight, or rather 2 flights (with a stopover in Sydney) to Cairns where I'm at right now. When we landed at 6.30pm the pilot said the temperature outside was 24 degrees!! I got a bus to the place I was staying (Sarah had given me a telephone number and name) and they had no booking from me - turns out Sarah had given me the number for one place and the name for another! Anyhow it all worked out fine.

Got up early yesterday morning went for a ramble around, it was so warm! Of course like a moth to a flame I was drawn to the shops but have to mindful that I can't really buy anything because my bag weighed 24.5kgs at check in on Tuesday! Later in the afternoon I went down to the Esplanade where they have a man made beach and pool because there's no beach in Cairns, just mudflats. I sat on the grass and think I'm getting very sensible in my old age as it was factor 30 I splashed on!

I've not been really enjoying myself here and am sure my father thinks I'm a lunatic after my tearful conversation last night - so I've decided to head on this morning. I'm going to Port Douglas where I plan to just lie on a beach and chill out for a couple of days, will reassess the situation then and see how I feel! I might do the Great Barrier Reef tomorrow we'll see!

Got to Port Douglas today for 1 and had to wait around for an hour to check in. Then I headed straight to the beach, which to be honest is like a little slice of heaven - it's so tropical, palm trees, coconuts on the ground, white sand, unfortuantely it wasn't that warm and the sand was blowing but as you'll see from the photo below it's a beautiful place to be!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



19th July 2007

Missing me?
U no whats wrong with u? Ur just missing ur sister taking care of u:) Enjoy it, ur going to have a ball, I did!!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb