Cains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
April 24th 2007
Published: April 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

Well I have arrived in cains. The airport that I left from at Alice Springs was miniture. It looked like a toy playmobile set. The flight was interesting as you could watch the changes of the land from red desert sand, to mountins to rich lush forsest as you approced the coast of queensland. The airport was right by the sea and for a moment it looked like we were going to land on the sea! I grabbed a free shuttle bus to cavanelles 149- the name of my hostle. This is a nice hostle with a pool and my room has 14 beds and 2 on suite showers woo. It is also very very cheap and comes with a free dinner everynight. For the last 4 nights I have had the same supper, as it is free and very yummy, and just musily the rest of the time.

I signed up to a thing called a minjin swing. It was cheap and I wanted to find out what it was. When I got there I found out that you got strapped into a suite thingy and attacted onto a very small piece of sting. You then got hoisted up a mear 164 ft in the air and an angle and then dropped like a massive swing. It was awesome!!!! The first drop made your stumach dissaperar but after that it was really cool. I spent the rest of the day at the top of the bungee tower watching crazy lonatics jump off with me promising the guy at the top that you would never get me near the edge in a million years.

I have made a lovely Austrian freind, Carmen and togeather we have done a lot of crazy stuff. We found the Cheapist deal by far for a snorkling thing which everyone said would be rubbish. It turned out to be amazing. We got to swim with more nemo fish on the great barrier reef, and two turtles, and go scoober diving for a bit , but I didnt like that It was too weird. Our boat also thew a net out the back and first the boys had to jump out and hold on then the girls then when we were all holding on, they turned the engines up very fast and drove off, it was like a manic chtuckoosie (cant spell) and it was impossible to hold on. all the girls bikinis started falling off (haha) and when they stopped and I looked behind me, only 3 out of the 10 boys were left on the boat! It was an awesome day, and I got a very burn bottom (again) haha. Swimming with the giant sea turtles was increable, they swam up to us and didnt mind being touched at all.

Me and Carmen did some impusle shopping that evening . We decided to book us into a trip where you get to go white water rafteing , and er bungee jumping (HAHAHA). We didnt really thing about what we were doing until the next morning when the pick up came. We sat silently in the back of the truck as it assended up the mountin into the rainforest where I first did the minjin swing. After being weighed and handing in our tickets, we then had to clime the everlasting steps up to the top of the tower. At this point I wasnt feeling very good. When we got to the top, the guy reconised me as the girl who was too scared to walk down the stairs the other day when I spent 4 hours up their. tehehe. They mangaed to get the first part of the harness on me but they couldnt get me to let go of the middle of the tower pilon thing. I watched another 10 or so people quite happeily jump of this stupid little platform and I decided I would much rather be at home, in bed than up this stupid tall tower. Fiannnly after a lot of coasking and sweet talking, they mangeded to get me onto the place where you had to get your feet strapped in. They first wrap a towel round your feet and then a small bit of string stuff which appently can hold 2 tonnes. hmmm. I was feeling very untrusting of their equipment although everyone was chearing me on and telling me how great it was. I just coudnt see why Anyone would want to hurl themselfs off a tiny little platform with onlyi there feet tied up. it seemed stupid to me. It took about half an hour to finally get me to the platform, and woody ( the guy at the top) then put his foot behind mine so I couldnt jump backwards into the hut again. He spent ages talking to me and finally got one hand off so I could wave at the camerer. he then tryed to get me to let go with the other hand but I just kept grabbing anything insight. finally he tryed counting down quietly in my ear but I just icnored him and said that I wanted to be sick haha. I told him that I felt dizzy and he said it was ok, If i fainted at least I would have fallen off the platform. It was this point I decided to try and go for it as I wanted to atleast rememeber falling! He then tryed the other tacktic of counting down at the top of his voice and getting everyone to join in. They had to repetat the coundown about 10 times, and I alomost jumped. In the end I did jump. I though I had done the most magnificent dive ever, but looking back at the dvd, I looked like a dead hamster curled up in a tiny ball! But I had jumped. The croud at the top went wild (appently, I dont remeber much) the first drop was so quick Ijust cant remeer it at all. But I eneded up getting soacked in the lake at the bottom, even though he promised that I woulnt. But on the rebound bounce, it was amazing, I felt like I was flying and I had a great time. Apart from the fact I was drenched.

When I finally got untied ( a little boat drives out on the lake and unties you) I was such a shaking wreak that I coundln t stand up or talk. But I felt amazing. It was awesome, Its just the initial jump that is sooo daunting and scary. Woody was on his lunch break and came down to see how I was. He said that It was people like me (terrified) that make his job worth doing as it means that I have pushed myself to my limit. I have got photos to prove my dead hamster position as I fell.

Me and carmen had our lunch ( peanut butter samwideges wrapped up in a leaftlet we found in the hostle, very DIY) and then got picked up by the white water rafting people. We had to wear helmits and stuff and carry the boat down to the river on our heads! The rafting was fun but my sun burnt bottom didnt agee with rubbing constantly agains the rubber boat. The rapids were ok but not as extream as the leaflet said. This may have been because we had both jumped off a very high bridge and were compleatly buzzing. I jumped in the river and swam down one rappid which was pretty aweome as you feel like a downed cat and dont know your up from a down. We finally got home and had a musliey break (we eat about 4 bowls of muslie a day as well as our free supper). We agreed that we would do apsoloutly nothing the next day.

And this is just what we did. Today we woke up at 12 and had our muslie and walked to the photo shop to put our stuff on cds and then we went here. oh and I covered my hair in lemon as an expericment to see if it goes blond or not, but so far we havnt been in the sun!

Tommorw at 7 30 am I shall leave cains on a bus and see where I shall end up! (I dont know where my bus goes you see so I am just going with the flow) and I have lost my room key and dont want to get fined!

Oh I finally got to watch neighbours woooooooo 😊 But I was totally confused its all differnt and they have breaks in their show, how annoying is that?!

Keep sending me emails.

Love from Katharine the bungee queen 😊 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb