Tomato picking


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bundaberg
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We Arrived in Bundaberg on a tuesday and started work on the wednesday. I was picking zucchini wich is the absolute worst thing to pick. first of all they grow in short little bushes so you have to bend over all day. second of all the leaves and stuff have little thorns so your arms and legs are all cut up at the end of the day. third of all you get paid by the bucket so if you just stand around or take occasional breaks you dont make very much money. so i quit that job. Codys first job was in a tomato shed, he said it was very easy all he had to do was stack crates.

my second job was packing avacodos. this was my ideal job, i wasnt in the sun, they had free tea and coffee and the girls i was working with were very nice. Basically you had to sort the avacodos by size and take out the rotten or scratched ones. now i wasnt the best packer there because it was my first day so the lady incharge kept bringing back my boxes saying that i didnt do a very good job. Anyways when i got back to the hostel i went to john( the man that finds everyone work) and i told him that i liked my job and if i could perminatly do that. and he said they sacked ( fired) me! can you belive that, after one day, she didnt even give me a chance. oh i was mad. codys second job was picking pumpkins he said it wasnt all that bad. All he did was cut the pumpkin with a huge knife then threw it someone standing by the tractor who put it in the tractor. he even got to drive the tractor. plus he had to drive everyone to work because the bus broke down so they took a different bus but the guy didnt know how to drive standard so cody did. this was only a one day job.

now we are both picking tomatoes on a machine. its really neat you get to sit on this big machine that moves and it has a conveyor belt thing that you throw the tomatoes on. Its kind of hard at some points because you have to keep up with how fast the machine is moving and some one follows you to make sure you dont miss to many if you do they sack you. the only bad thing is i think i am allergic to tomatoes. i sneeze and my nose runs all day, its terrible. today i went and got a nasal spray, hope it helps.

let me tell you a little bit about the hostel we are staying at. it is an old police station so our room is an actual jail cell. we have bars on our windows and a huge metal door plus a tv, fridge and a sink. plus we have a bar and a pool in the hostel. its great. there is a guy here named michael, his job is to make sure everyone is up in time for work and if your not he has a cattle prod to shock you. it actually says for animal use only. one guy couldnt go to work because his leg went numb from it. i always make sure i am up in time for work.

Emily reporting from Australia



Advertisement



8th July 2006

Fruit pickin..
Hey Em! Sorry to hear your allergies are acting up! Just thought Id check your blog to see what youre up to. I cant talk right now. I got my tongue pierced yesterday, and its swelling up a little, but I love it. My friends say it suits me! Have fun on the farm, and keep in touch!
9th July 2006

work
SOOOOOO......Not so glamorous. Did I mention Susie was calling for you. that nanny job sounding pretty good right now?! Can't wait to tell Ayden and Reece about the cattle prod. Maybe I'll get one! Good Luck, better get to bed early in your jail cell!!!
9th July 2006

Hey Em! You're going to have a whole new appreciation for vegetables and where they come from! Are you allergic to the farming...or to work? LOL! Seriously, you need to see a Dr to get something for your breathing. Love, Mom
10th July 2006

SNEEZY?
WELL SNEEZY GLAD TO HEAR YOU WENT TO THE DOCTOR . YOU BETTER TAKE CARE OF YOUR SELF !! PLEASE DON'T TAKE BREATHING AND ALLERGIES TOO CASUAL!! ENOUGH FOR THE LECTURE!! I WILL WRITE MORE OFTEN AS I HAVE NEGLECTED TO IN THE PAST!! BAD UNCLE! WE ALL MISS YOU!! LOVE UNCLE RICK, KATHY AND ANTHONY
17th July 2006

Hey Em...I'm going to New York!!!
Hey Em, so happy you found Tomatos! Sounds like a career someone could really settle down to. In the meantime, I'm meeting Sam in Montreal and we're taking the train to see Raj and Lorelee. I am anxious to see your stompin' grounds (and hear a few stories). Love Uncle Rob

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb