Day 26 - Leaving Whitsundays, heading for Bundeburg


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bundaberg
March 17th 2024
Published: March 17th 2024
Edit Blog Post

I had a solid sleep last night. I think that knowing that the bugs have been exterminated, and that I have complete suitcase organisation, has cleared my mind affording me a restful night. It’s the little things in my life that maintain my happiness!

I was awake just before my alarm set off this morning, at about 6:20! I just had to put a couple of final bits into my suitcase, get a shower, then I’m good to go.

Today for breakfast I had Vegemite on toast. I love it! I do eat marmite at home, it’s very similar. I had a coffee with my breakfast, then another one after too. The whole group were up and around, making good time for the leave at 7:45.

We have a long journey today. We are driving about 800k to Bundeburg, which is the southernmost gateway to the Great Barrier Reef.

I’m just looking out of the bus window, there is so much sugarcane!!! We were told about the cane toad. They were purposely introduced into Australia as a means of controlling pest beetles in the sugar cane industry in 1935, before the use of agricultural chemicals became widespread, but their population has exploded overtime, to the point were they are now a national pest! They have a distinct poisonous sack (parotid gland) on each shoulder which excretes a white milky substance when threatened. So far, I’ve only seen a dead one, which Johanna, our guide, said is the best way for them to be!

We had our first Servo stop at a small place called Conninsby, which is situated in Mackay. We have covered 140km at this point. At this stop we saw quite a few Ibises. Ibises all have long, downcurved bills, and usually feed as a group, probing mud for their food. They have a variety of colloquial names such as "tip turkey" and "bin chicken",

The next Servo stop is at a town called Carmila, which is a rural town and coastal locality in the Isaac Region. We have travelled a further 115km. Behind the garage was a sugarcane field, I was surprised by how tall the sugarcane is up close!

We set off again, to start our quiz phase. It was quite a fiasco, but a fun fiasco. Charles took the lead. He took his position as question master very seriously, he did a great job. He was followed up by Sarah, who offered an improv mime game. Next up was Temu. He did a cracking round of the music intro quiz. Finally Mateus streamed some of his music through Spotify for us. He’s a budding musician on the Gold Coast. It was good that as a group we all made the effort to entertain each other.

At about 2;15 we have now completed 480km. We are currently passing through the town of Rockhampton. The Tropic of Capricorn goes through this town. It is a city in Central Queensland, Australia. Straddling the Fitzroy River, it's known for beef production, and has several bull statues around town. It is very much cattle country. Just for your information, we passed a drive through bottle shop!!! Crazy! The landscape has changed now. It is more sparse, cattle land.

At the next stop we get the bad news that, due to the wild winds that are currently happening in the area, tomorrow’s trip to do snorkelling has been cancelled by the company. It is another disappointment, but no one can control the weather. The alternative offer is to go to a wine distillery for lunch and wine tasting, then on to the Bundeburg Rum Distillery for a tour. Neither of these things are of any real interest to me, but I’ve decided to still do it, if I don’t…. Why am I here? So I’m going to go with the flow!

We had the next stop near to Benaraby, which is a rural town and locality in the Gladstone Region in Queensland. We have around 274km to go to get to our next hotel in Bargara, Southern Great Barrier Reef, which is 12km from the main city of Bundeburg.

It is 6:40, and we are minutes away from arriving at our next hotel, Kelly’s Beach Resort. We’re going to quickly dump our bags, freshen up, strictly no time for showers and getting changed as the chef has our food on the BBQ, as we are heading in!

WOW…. I literally have a house for 5 people…. To myself. It’s amazing! It’s dark already, so I’m not sure about the outside, but the pool and tennis courts look good. I can’t wait to see it it in the morning! .
It was a very quick turnaround, everyone made it quickly to the barbecue area for dinner and drinks. We all sat together with Johanna, our tour guide until about 9:30. It was so interesting. We had a great discussion about indigenous culture and beliefs, about James Cook, who has obviously been the centre of a lot of conversations. As we are from various countries, and we also have a wide age range, these discussions throw up a lot of good discussions. Johanna is so knowledgeable…, I love these times, and it is clear that everyone else does too! Jo, Ulla and Matti (her Mum and Dad) went to their rooms at about 10pm, I left at about 10:30, the test continued drinking. Before I left, we finished off that part of the night by gazing up at the Southern Star again,… because we can!

I started the day think about the long journey on the road, but it’s actually been another really good day, followed by a cracking night!

Oh my lord….. I was just sitting quietly, having a coffee on my porch after doing some washing..,. It’s pitch black, apart from my porch light…. You know how, when you’re day alone, in unfamiliar surroundings…. With lots of bird and other strange noises….. then ….a person stepped from round the corner onto my porch…. I almost fell out of my chair….. honestly…. My heart boomed to my head!!! It was Angelika…. She was tipsy, and lost!!! I don’t know why I didn’t scream!!!! She was lost, and needed the loo! But she was as shocked as me….. as she thought she was at her own place!!! It was soo funny afterwards. We took a bit of time to get over the shock! I took her back to find her place…. Pheww, I hope no one else turns up by accident. I guess she was lucky it was me! It could have been complete strangers she was shocking…. Ha ha




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



18th March 2024

I’m loving here all about your adventures les 👍🏼🥰
20th March 2024

Hi Gemma
Aw, I’m pleased you’re liking it! Xx I’m loving it!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb