Day 27 - Wine tasting and Bundaburg Rum distillery


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bargara
March 18th 2024
Published: March 18th 2024
Edit Blog Post

A great night sleep, I did have a run in with a bug! I sprayed it, then thought, I’ll collect it in the morning! I woke up to the alarm at 8:30. Well relaxed, and ready for the day.

I pottered for a while, made a cup of tea, then sat on my porch. I sighted a few dragon beard lizards passing by!

I went to collect my breakfast from reception. I had oats cereal, with apple, yoghurt and apple, then a cereal bar. Not what I would usually eat, but I do tend to just eat, and enjoy what I am presented with. It’s a self catering place, so our guide, Johanna, brought our breakfast in!

At about 9:30 Angelika came round for a cup of tea and a chat. We spent about an hour chatting on my porch. She left to go back to her place, I went for a walk on the beach. As always, it’s so beautiful, the sky looks clear, the water is clear, but you can see that further out to sea, the waves look big!

As lovely as it is on the beach, it’s difficult to stay there. The sun is so o intense, and there is nowhere to find shade. So I had a good walk from one to the other, then walked back to our site. The walking certainly makes you sweat, so when I got to the site pool, I decided to stay for a swim. It the only way to cool down.

I went back to my little house st about 11:45 as I need to shower again, and get ready for our wine tour. We are meeting at Bruce at 12:30.

I arrived 20 minutes early, but sadly Bruce…. Johanna! Needs help. Bruce is clear out of oil. She’s called her Dad, who is on the tour with us, to take an Uber to get oil.

We finally set off at 1:15. For Ohana Winery in Bundeburg. They make both wine, and cider. We are having lunch there, and it is also wine tasting session.

Some of the group got a six glass test tray, I didn’t as I’m not that curious. I was definitely there for the food! I got a Bundaberg ginger beer to wash my pizza down. It was a pleasant experience, and interesting to see how well such a young couple have done to make their business really diverse in a huge market.

The next stop, which was literally around the next corner, was The Bundaberg Rum distillery tour. I have to say, through all of my years of drinking, and that is quite a few,… I have never drank rum. I did make a conscious decision to attend today, because if I don’t, I aren’t able to really join in the conversations afterwards. Also, it means you also spend more time alone, which I’m ok with, but that’s not the way to integrate into the group. You do have to put some effort in, in order to reap the benefits of being part of the group. Again, it was interesting to see the process, and read about the history of it. It seems that this particular brand is obviously a big deal to Aussies, but if you don’t like the stuff, you simply don’t, no matter which country you are in.

On the way back to the resort we stopped off at the supermarket to shop for our own teas. I just got an Asian salad, some bread and hummus, with a fruit salad following for dessert. We also picked our breakfast up from Johanna. As I mentioned earlier, this is a self catering place, although they do have a restaurant. I just went with the majority and bought it in. I was pleased to be in the supermarket as I need more mosquito repellent. I did get some, but it’s only 20 deet. 40 is more efficient!

It is now 6:45, I still haven’t done my tea! So I do need to.

I ate about half of my tea. It was ok, but I think I just wasn’t that hungry. It’s still quite early, so I think I’ll shower now, and get ready for bed. Some of the group have gone for a walk to the beach, they’re doing a Barbie later, the Brazilians are eating in, Angilika went to bed early as she’s not feeling 100%, so I might have an early night.

Charles sent a text stating meeting at Barbie spot for drinks. I really enjoy the group chats, so I’ll just take my cup of tea, my fruit salad dessert, and put my sweat jacket over my pjs and meet up! I’ll only be dipping in for an hour!

It’s now 9:30, I’ve just got back, to be honest, I don’t think they even realised that I was in pjs! If they did. no one said anything, they would probably think I’m just old and batty… ha ha. To be fair, I don’t think that pjs are not very pj looking these days!

A possum kept getting very brave with itself tonight. I guess it was after the left over food. He could definitely smell it, I’m sure! I did get a photo, but it was quite dark, so the picture is not very clear.

My case doesn’t need much attention as I had a good sort out at the last stop, so I’ve not got much to do in preparation for leaving tomorrow. My breakfast is in the fridge already, and we don’t have to leave until 9:00am, so easy morning tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb