Green bags


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
October 28th 2006
Published: October 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello and greetings!

I am currently sat in my old hostel as still have internet time left here and the weather is so hot!!
Since my last entry a few things have happend and as I am lazy I am going to tell you in bullet points and save my poor fingers from typing too much.
Ok - here we go...
- Roisin and Marc flew back to West Oz a couple of weeks ago now. Spoken to them a few times and they seem fine and dandy although Katie and I do miss them loads. In addition, Conor flew to West Oz as well for a little holiday and has now flown to Bali where am sure he is sunning himself and taking advantage of the cheap prices!
- Katie and I moved in to a new, lovely hostel on the other side of town which is mega clean and really friendly (clean meaning they steam clean the carpets every other week!)
- I finished my job in call centre yesterday so am heading up to Bundaberg tomorrow. Apparently tomatoes are in season so that should be interesting! Katie is staying in Brisbane and going to stay with Todd - her man from the bar. She is now back doing admin after leaving the bar - it transpires they were not big fans of staff relationships so she was kindly asked to leave! We still go to the bar at least twice a week and harass Todd and have become regulars! She has her job guarenteed until Jan so she will be nice and rich. Was particularly pleased as she can afford to buy me lots of xmas presents now! :-)
- 5 people from the hostel are also heading up to Bundy on Mon and are probably staying in same hostel as me so it will be nice to heave some familiar faces and have also heard a big group from my old hostel are up there so am looking forward to getting up there and checking the place out. Have heard mixed reports about Bundaberg but am going anyway. Every traveller likes to think they are an expert cause they heard a friend of a friends brothers mothers cousin talking about going to Bundy ten years ago etc etc! If I listened to every thing I heard I would never have bloody left England!

anyway, new hostel is lovely apart from the fridge situation. for starters - there are no freezers - fresh food only then. Can get quite expensive and can take a lot of mental calulations trying to work out what food you need and when you need to buy it before it goes off! Secondly there is the constant battle to fit your bag in the fridge. Don't think the green bag thing has hit UK but here, every one - and i mean EVERY ONE owns a green reusable bag in an attempt to cut down on plastic bags. They are quite handy but once again - full time job trying to (a) get your bag in the fridge and (b) subsequently get the fridge door to close! anyway - rant over!

- Emma, Katie and I went to see Jay Z and Rhianna on Thurs night. Was really good but a bit tame compared to other gigs I have been to. No alcohol in the arena area and half the seats were empty! Was good music tho and really enjoyed it. Katie and I headed to Downunder bar after and ended getting home about 3 which was quite painful the next morning getting up for work!

Enough for now!
Go to go shopping!
Mariana Williamspoo! was lovely to talk to you last night - please ring again! If only to check I have not melted in the QLD heat!

BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe

Advertisement



30th October 2006

G'day g'day!
Hey luv, just writing to say hey, sounds like all is good with you... Im looking forward to hear what Bundy is like? You should be there by now I reckon... Had a bit of a crazy weekend, lots to catch up on...terrible behaviour..tsk tsk..hehe...safe journeys chuck, chat soon, miss youse, xxx

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb