South Bank, Sunshine, Pimms and Yoga


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 13th 2013
Published: January 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I had no real plans so after a nice relaxed start to the day I headed to catch the train to South Bank. I arrived at the station and had just missed the 9.04am train, the next train was at 9.34am, so no major wait, so I settled into reading my latest book – Steven Redgrave’s autobiography. Unfortunately 9.34 came and went…still no train. With no one to ask and no announcements I just continued to read my book, which is fascinating, and eventually the 10.04am train arrived and we all jumped on, some people looking rather frustrated.

South bank was lovely, very chilled out vibe but very hot, even at 10.30am. I went for a nice swim, soaking in the city views and then found a nice spot in the shade to settle down and read my book in. By 12.30 it was too hot to so I went for a wonder around the South Bank markets, walked up to the big river bridge and then back alongside the river in the shade, dodging the cyclists, runners and roller bladders. I picked up a yummy fruit juice of carrot, ginger, orange, pineapple and apple juice from the smoothie bar before jumping on the train home.

Exiting the cool air-conditioned train into the Brisbane heat of about 370C at 1.30pm was a slight shock, and the 20min walk home from the station was a rather hot, sticky and rather unpleasant affair! I successfully made it however, and once inside I headed straight for chair directly in front of the fan.

After making some lunch and enjoying some Pimms with Rowena and Matt it was soon 4pm and time to head out to yoga. After Wednesdays ‘therapeutic yoga’ I was intrigued to see what this session of ‘general yoga’ would entail. I was a little hesitant to start with, especially as the instructors’ voice was a little annoying, but about 15mins in I really started to enjoy it. It didn’t follow the usual flow of moves I have done previously, but it was good to do some different moves, some of which were quite challenging.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb