The weekend begins


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 22nd 2012
Published: December 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Got up around 8.30am and was surprised to see Rowena up and about as it was a late one last night. However once she had let the carpenter in she went back to bed, and with Matt busy on the computer I contemplated what to do for the day.

I downloaded a free one day gym pass for Fitness First in the city, jumped on the train and spent a few hours in the gym ‘bashing out a good session’ as we used to say. The gym had hair straighteners which was rather exciting, so I could actually make my hair look semi nice!

When I got back, Rowena and I moved the chest of draws from the downstairs bedroom up into the room I am staying in and re-organised the furniture. I then had a good sort out of all my stuff, unpack properly and tidy. I have put the pictures from the zoo and my cards from everybody out on the chest of draws which is great.

This evening we headed to a winter/summer solstice party hosted by one of Rowena’s friends and ex-work colleagues. It was a cocktail party, and all were homemade, there were many different types on offer – frozen watermelon daiquiris, Mango based cocktails, blueberry fizz as well as non-alcoholic fruit punch with watermelon stars in, I didn’t try them all, but those I did taste were great. It was a very relaxed affair with everybody sitting round chatting and a nice evening.

As the sun sets quite early here, we weren’t too late home and I had time to Skype Dad and Jan before they headed off to Susan’s. It was really lovely to see their faces and catch up on all the goings on, though a bit bizarre they had just got up and I was going to bed!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb