Exploring Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 17th 2012
Published: December 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 8am for a run and quickly learnt at 8am its still WAY too hot! I cooled down and had a cold shower but just kept sweating, I had to stand there for about 30mins doing nothing just trying to cool down!

HOW DO PEOPLE LIVE LIKE THIS???? Eventually cooled down enough to put on some suncream and have some breakfast. I walked down to the station – about a 20min walk and was totally drenched again. The man in the station office was very helpful, probably taking pity on this poor English girl who clearly isn't used to this heat! and explained all about the 'Go Card' - a bit like an Oyster card, and I was soon aboard the air-conditioned train (thank goodness) speeding into the city and South Bank Station.

I then headed over to the city section of the Botanical gardens and spent several hours exploring, escaping the heat briefly by looking round the old Government Building. Old buildings here are no older than 100 years old which is quite amusing.

After the gardens I headed into the city, found somehwere to get my eyebrows waxed, I can now look people in the eye again without being embarassed at the state of them! I wandered around the shopping area.....much like any shopping area across the world but did find a little fresh juice/smoothie bar which provided a nice refreshing drink. Visited tourist information and picked up lots of leaflets and found out about the buses to the other section of the botanical gardens, but it was already 2pm and and the last bus back from the gardens to the city was at 3.30pm so decided to leave that section to another day.
I then headed over to Brisbane Science museum which was good, not quite London though, and had time to do only the Asia Pacific section of the Art Gallary as it closed at 5pm.....but don't worry Grandad I will look round the rest of the gallery and provide a full report for you. Pretty sure none of it will be as good as your recent works though!

I dropped into a corner shop to buy some credit for my Australian Sim and figured out how to top it up...I now feel I am about 13 again with a pay as you go mobile!
In the evening I took Rowena for a little fitness session round the park and then cooked Spagetti bolagnase for the three of us before climbing into bed with rather achy feet after all the days activity!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



18th December 2012

Sounds amazing and hot
Hi Kate, Sounds like you are already having the time of your life again. We didn't get to Brisbane but have always heard great things about it. We experienced the heat in January a few years ago when we were over that way. Take care.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb