Day 1 - Explore...and try not to get lost


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 17th 2010
Published: September 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, Day 1 on my adventure abroad! Now...to get the guts to strike out exploring on my own. You can do this Ash! lol.

After a nice Skype chat with Scott & Sarah and the kids (fortunately for me & my futuristic time difference, they were all up late!) I felt inspired to get out there and see Brisbane!

Armed with a timetable for the Train, and a "Go Card" to load with train fare (thank goodness for Jodi!) I was ready to head out, actually somewhat prepared! I found my way to the train station, then managed to board the right train and get off at the right station! so far so good!

Jodi had gone over a map of Brisbane City with me, with some suggested walking routes. I spent the afternoon walking around, getting my bearings in my new city. I spent some time in the City Botanical Gardens, and was reminded that its only spring here - the flowers have only started! I stopped to eat my lunch under a huge Moreton Bay Fig tree. I wandered through Queensland University of Technology Campus, then across the Brisbane River over the Goodwill Bridge. I kept a' wandering up the boardwalk on South Bank, and in and around the cultural centre, which includes the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Queensland Museum, Gallery of Modern Art, and the Queensland State Library. I didn't actually go in anywhere today, just scoped out interesting exhibits that I wanted to come back to when I have more time.

I went to one exhibit at the State Library titled Windwells - Channeling and Divining - which was to say...interesting. It was about the art of 'water divining' using a 'divining rod'. Basically people who were able to find good wells with this rod (as opposed to just digging around I guess?) It sounded really interesting, but in reality, the exhibit was a little weird! Bright lights, large towers of books, strange sounds...I started to wonder just what I'd walked into! Once I rounded the corner of the main exhibit (which resembled modern art more than something I'd expect at the Library), there was a video with the artists of the installation discussiong their ideas and inspiration for the exhibit. Ah, finally it made sense. Also, there was a display of articles and a binder with newspaper articles regarding the "water diviners" of the day, dating from back in 1882! The articles made it all worth it and were really interesting.

Here's a link to the Queensland State Library website for some more information if you're interested!
http://www.slq.qld.gov.au/whats-on/exhibit/online/windwells

After all that excitement (translation - after all that walking combined with jet lag) I was tuckered and so I managed to make it back to the train station, got on the right train, and made it home safe and sound! Success! Not bad for a first day. But to all my former travel buddies out there, I miss ya, exploring just isn't quite the same on my own!









Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



21st September 2010

Well I miss exploring with you! It sounds like you got a good idea of where things are and what you might be interesting in seeing! Glad to hear you are having fun!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb