A quiet time in Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've had a nice quiet time here in sunny Brisbane. I've been staying with Marcello at his flat and have enjoyed the comforts of staying in a home rather than a hostel. Having a fridge, washing machine and cooker have been absolute luxuries! It's been nice seeing a friendly face and having good company too. We went for a quick tour of the city centre, a walk through the park on the South Bank and a ride on the City Cat (the Catamaran servicing the river through the city centre). We've seen movies and chilled out in front of the telly.

At the weekend I had a bit of a trip highlight. Marcello took me to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary in Brisbane. It's a small place set amongst the gum trees housing 130 Koalas along with other Australian animals. The Koalas were housed in open pens, most with no glass or mesh between Koala and the public. It was amazing being so close to these cute furry creatures quietly sleeping or eating in the branches. It was impossible to watch them without emitting the occasional ‘awe’. I couldn’t resist and had my picture taken with one of the residents, Dudley. I put my hands out and the staff member placed him on me, his little paws clung on. I was absolutely thrilled to have a cuddle with a Koala.

The sanctuary also housed wombats, a selection of Australian birds, Tasmanian devils, dingos, reptiles, birds of prey and kangaroos. The birds of prey show was great and I wasn’t shy when they asked for a volunteer either! The park has a huge Kangaroo enclosure where the public can feed and stroke the residents. I wasn’t brave enough to feed the larger ones but it was a treat to have a younger kangaroo let me feed and stroke it. A lovely day out.

Marcello has been very kind to let me stay at his place but it’s time now to move on from Brisbane. Next stop Noosa on the Sunshine Coast.





Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb