Dump and burn


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 9th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello blog fans. Sorry for the delay in recent weeks, but to be honest there has not been much to write about. I have spent the last 3 or so weeks in Brisbane with Kieren and Kate, some friends from Northampton who emigrated a year ago. They were kind enough to put me and Sam up and even got us jobs at the factory they work in. Needless to say I spent 3 glorious weeks going back to what I know best: food development.

But there was a little bit of fun to be had aswell. Kieren took me to the coast a couple of times and I took the body board out whilst he surfed, as a team we came second in a local pub quiz, there was the river fire show (more in a sec) and a weekend in Byron Bay where 4 of us got our first surf lesson and we visited the most Easterly point of Mainland Australia.

The river fire show is an annual Brisbane extravaganza where a 30 minute firework display is coordinated to music and broadcast live on TV. The best part is that it is topped and tailed by 2 F1-11 jets flying over with their afterburners left on and burning off some dumped fuel (hence Dump and Burn - and I bet you all thought it was related to a dodgy curry!). The whole display costs about $1million to put on, most of it for the jets.

So hopefully that is all the work I need to do on this trip. The bank balance has been topped up and we are all set to go up the coast. But before that there is the small matter of a wedding. A vegas wedding....


Advertisement



26th September 2007

vegas wedding?
got me wondering now mike, just whos wedding youre talking about! Good to know you're okay, enjoying life. No news here at sunny Brookes. Rach leaves in 23 days time, leaving only me and Mike as former BC members!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb