Sad News


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi All.

So I know I updated yesterday but this is our last day to get e-mail for a few so thought I would say hello really quick I also just recieved word that Hanley Denning, who was the Bowdoin graduate who started the Safe Passage Program that I went and volunteered with last spring was killed in a car accident in Guatamala City. She was such an amazing person who really showed what one person could do if they put thier mind to it. I feel very lucky to have gotten the chance to meet her. Anyway the reason I am telling you is because the program that she started is really amazing and I think that they are really going to need some help in the next while, having lost their founder, director, and true inspiration. So if any of you are interested in seeing what she did and/or donating this is the info:

" Memorial contributions can be made to the Sustainability Fund for Safe Passage. Please visit the Safe Passage website at www.safepassage.org for further information. You can
also write Safe Passage at: P.O. Box 663, Yarmouth, ME 04096."

Well I love you all and miss you loads! Hope to be in touch soon.

Em

Advertisement



21st January 2007

Love you
Emily, My dear Emily.. I hope you have been getting my private emails to date. If not ,I thought I would post one here. Your adventure sounds so great! I am jealous and wish I could be with you. You will learn so much from the experience. I am so sorry to hear the sad news about Hanley. She was a very special person.I can remember your stories about meeting her. Dad and I will send a donation in the next few days. She sure has made a major contribution at such a young age.Not fair... Some good news for you. Ian is doing much ,much better, he is starting at Spaulding in the AM and Rob will oversee things. I had a great visit with him today and much of the time I felt and witnessed the old Ian. He has so much love , prayers and support around him. He even checked his email this AM.He is is sweet loving self. In time he will check out this site, I'm sure. We are about to make some stew for the big game tonight.. Brain will come here to cheer on the Pats. I just got back from my confernce in aspen, it was great in every way. I'll be in touch and please let me know if you are getting my emails. Take care honey,, Have fun , try new things and stay safe. Love you and miss you , Mom

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb