Nimbin Rox Youth Hostel and a bit of Byron


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well hello everybody,

Sorry I have been off the radar for a little while, been having an interesting and relaxing time in Nimbin.

Anyway, so I travelled on the bus to Byron Bay overnight and as usual slept like a log and woke up 20 mins from Byron. Checked into a hostel and had a wander down the beach. Was very nice, sat and chilled for a bit and tried to climb the rocks but my flip flop broke, so binned them! Then just chilled on the beach until the sunset. I will upload pics on here soon, but you want to see this sunset, was totally amazing, even better then all the ones in Asia. I think because there was so much cloud, it was unreal. Went back to the hostel and went out with the people from my dorm for dinner. We had wristbands for a free BBQ, but got there late and they had run out, mind you we were only 45 mins late and part of the reason was because we got ID'd (again) and had to walk back to the hostel and get some. Anyway, we ate a cheap meal and had a couple of beers, then went back to the hostel got some wine, drank it and went out...Was ok night, very quiet though! Met a nice guy called Bret in my room from England, so we will meet up soon on the road...

Next day I headed for the bus to Nimbin at 10am. Travelled on the bus through the mountains and arrived at my hostel at about 1pm. Instantly I knew it was going to be amazing, driving up the drive with horses and cows either side, mountains and breathtaking views. The hostel is situated 20 mins walk from Nimbin out in the hills. gorgous hammocks in the trees, grass verges with stunning views and a totally totally chilled anad amazing place. Nimbin itself is a hippy town, very strange and weird people frequent the area, but they are all very nice and very chatty, probably because they are constantly high!

In the hostel on the first night i met a Japense guy called Uma and a Swiss girl called Manuela. They are both really nice and were staying in the tipi, oh yeah there is a full size wigwam tipi, you can stay in, amazing... We had a few drinks and chilled on a picnic bench all evening by the tipi, was good fun and very beautiful night with the stars out. Said goodbye to Manuela the next day as she was off, going to try and catch her up but she has shot off up near Cairns already when I last heard from her, so touch wood she does not go past there before i get up there.

On the next night I met a guy called mark, who I spent the whole week with, (I ended up staying for 1 week and not 1 night). We also met a really really really nice group of italian girls, who we spent 3/4 days with. We had 3 days of solid rain, so it was pointless moving on as the beach is no good in the rain. The good thing about the hostle is all of the covered seating areas, so we spent the nights playing UNO, chatting, listening to music and having a very nice time. UNO is the best game ever and the Italian girls have invented a fast quick UNO game, that requires speed and skill. It is so much fun and I was the undisputed hostel champion, I think I lost 4/5 games out of about 50. Haha, One of the girls Lisa was fuming that she couldn't beat me, was hillarious...Altogether a great time...

Travelling is the best thing I have ever done, is truly amazing. The only bad thing is that you have to say goodbye to so many people. I think this year, leaving Preston and Alstom and now travelling, I have said goodbye to so so so many people. I hate it though and wish everybody could be in one place, haha...Oh well. I guess its just one of those things...It was really sad saying bye to the Italian's, they were so so nice and I hope I see them again! I also met loads of other people in the hostel, from all over the world, amazing. When the rain stopped and the italian's left, there was very very good weather again. So much for Ozzie winter, i'm in shorts and flip flops again and have been for 5 days. I decided to stay at the hostel for a few days, so to have it like my first day with beautiful sun. Was amazing, and defo in my top 3 places I have been on the whole of my trip. In fact it's between there and the Perinthian Islands, but my time on the Perinthian's wasn't just the nice place...Actually I have been too to many places its hard to pick.

So spent a few days in the hostel, which turned into a week. People have been there for 3-4-5 weeks without leaving, very very hard place to leave. Anyway I decided that I was off on Wednesday and logged onto the internet to book my bus. Lo and behold there was a bus that connected with my Brisbane bus that was not on the timetable, so I stayed another night much to the amusment of everybody. Spent the sunny days, relaxing, reading, walking, playing UNO (although a lot less with no Italian's), sleeping, chilling. Mark and I went out and helped a local farmer out for a few hours on the back of his truck, was well good and we saw some stunning views...Altogether an amazing time...I think I prefer the countryside to the cities, think I stayed in Nimbin so long, as I had spent 1 week in Sydney and a few days in Singapore, so was pleased to be back in paradise...

So yesterday I decided I better get my but into gear and get moving. I left Nimbin and got the bus down to Byron and 3. Was again sad leaving...Got to Byron and killed an hour and then got my bus to see coley in Brisbane. Yep fell asleep and woke up in Brisbane. We arrived 30 mins early and he was out on some date, so I chilled out and had a beer and waited for him to pick me up. His house is awsome and had a very very good sleep, i must say its nice to be in a house for a day or 2...

Got up today, did my washing, and then washed my clothes. Haha, no I had to clean pretty much everything...Went for a nice run and workout in the park, need to get on the fitness now hardcore...Got the train into Brisbane and have been walking about, mooching round the shops...Coley finishes work at 6pm, so 2 hours to go. Think we are off to some girls house tonight for some sort of night and then we are going and watching hockey 2moz at his club. Should be good! Just in the libary now, so thought as I am back in Civilisation I better do my blog...!

Apologies for my spelling mistakes using the keyboard, the spell check is not working and I haven't got enough time to go through and check as have to log off in 2 mins...I have been typing very fast (Sylvia)...!

Hope you are all good, Send me some emails and let me know how people are, not heard much from Alstom or northern mates...! Hope you all good...

Speak Soon

Luke

Advertisement



22nd July 2011

Hiiiiii
HEY!!! Just back from L'pool, Graduation was mint! check out facebook....popped some pics up!!! Byron Bay was one of my fave places, you will have to write down where you stay at each place and ill see if that's where I was!! If you go to mission beach.....thats where you will do your skydive....or you can wait till NZ....bet that would be amazing over the glaciers there......oh you best be doing one....you will love it...remember i'm the one who is scared of heights so you have no excuse haha!! Wish we were there!!! soooooo jealous!! Dad says stop in the shade or he won't let you in if your more tanned than him!!! Love you lots xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb