It's Official! !!! I'm Engaged!!!


Advertisement
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'm sorry, Donny. But you've been replaced.

I met the man of my dreams the other day and it's been heaven ever since.

Chifley and I met quite by accident the other day and it was love at first sight. Finally, after 51 years of bad dates, cobwebs by the phone and carpal tunnel syndrome from sitting at a computer for so many years trying to find my "Mr. Right", Cupid has shot his arrow through my heart. And Chifley, very much the quiet and reserved type, feels the same way. I know it's so by the way he nestled his head under my chin mere seconds after we were introduced.

Some of you may chafe at my new relationship (and I quite expected it to be so!) but I know THIS one is FOREVER.

How could it possibly fail? Think about the following points:

1. There is no talkback. There never will be talkback. Approximately 20 of the 24 hours in a day, Chifley spends resting in a very lovely and comfortable slumber. The few hours we spend together will be all the more special because our time is so limited.

2. I won't possibly go broke. Chifley only eats eucalyptus leaves. NOTHING else. No more expensive olive oils and imported balsamic vinegars! I'm even thinking of having a greenhouse built so we can grow our own...we both are very organic.

3. Chifley has an approximate 15 year life span. If I'm lucky, I'll have the same (although this is somewhat debatable as of late!).

4. Chifley embraces monogamy. In fact, he rarely likes to explore "new territory" (if you know what I mean...)

5. Chifley requires very little to keep himself satisfied. No more arguments over TV converters, cell phone bills or bags of new designer duds!

6. Chifley loves to cuddle. I love to cuddle. Could you ask for anything else?


I've learned that simplicity is the key to happiness. Chifley is going to teach me the value of "scaling down" and enjoying the simple pleasures of day-to-day life. I'm really going to learn how to "live in the moment".
Yes, Chifley and I have a few issues to work out before we officially tie the knot (move over William and Kate...you're not the only newleyweds worthy of a newspaper article!)...for one, I have never been enamoured of a man with hair on his back. Perhaps I can introduce him to the fine art of "manscaping" but certainly I will go one step at a time. Apparently, he has embraced his hairiness for much of his life.
His nails are a tad too long for my taste. I have no issues in treating him to a periodic mani and pedi...I mean, sometimes you just have to go the extra mile for your man! And he can be quite grumpy if you wake him up too soon...nothing that an introduction to Starbucks won't help!

I'm swooning. I'm sweltering. I'm swaying to the sounds of violins in my ears.

I had to travel thousands of kilometres to find my happiness. But as I held Chifley in my arms, and felt his heart pounding against mine, I knew that this time I had found...my "endless love".

Advertisement



19th February 2011

It's Official! !!! I'm Engaged!!!
OMG so sweeeeeeeet Kevin. How adorable!! I love Chifley! Do you think Rita would let us have one if your build the greenhouse lol How can you resist Chifley awwwe Love Love Love the pics Enjoy xo
19th February 2011

loved this story
a true love story Kevin :) and one of your many best blogs ever, second only to the Australian tourists. Have fun, stay well, don't commit too soon. Make sure you have all the facts first :) best wishes for a continued safe and happy adventure. doris
19th February 2011

Endless Love
Kevin and Chifley: Congratulations! So happy to hear the news. Don't forget to register at Ashley's, Homesense and Starbuck's! I bet you are planning a destination wedding. Kevin: So glad that Chifley got the "final rose". The perfect choice! Full of envy, Laura xxx
19th February 2011

Chifley
So happy for both of you. A word of caution. Have you discussed community property distributions, perhaps a pre-nup agreement, where you will live, off-spring or when the best time to have the in-laws over for ecalyptus salad/BBQ. Don't worry love and mutual affection will conquer all Cheers W
23rd February 2011

How dare you!
How dare you!! LOL ...you look wonderful and happy, sorry I couldn't make the event can't wait to meet your partner!!! What an awesome picture. P.S. Great tan!!!!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb