I'm in the future


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arlight..
I made it! My flight out here was surprisingly good. However.. I somehow managed to rip a hole in the butt of my pants which I noticed in LA.. lovely. So I travelled all the way here showing my underwear. hahahha. But Qantas was an amazing airway.. It was not freezing cold like Air Canada (i didnt even need my sweet sleepin bag or pillow.. but i used them anyway) And I got to watch PS I love you! What could be better? They were really nice at customs too.. but then I was waiting for my bag and felt something um... near my butt... turned out to be a drug sniffing dog. That was nice, Specially with the hole in my pants :S Oh yeah, and there was totally a rock band on my flight! They had just played at the House of Blues in LA..but for the life of me I couldn't remember the bands name. So I couldn't even try to get an autograph because that would look terrible!

First impressions of Australia.. well when I was first driving from the airport to town I was like what the hell? Everythings brown! I didnt think the drought would be that bad... but apparently. That changed when i got into the city, everything is very green (well the grass is hurtin a bit) they are definetely worried about the water though, in all the bathrooms there are signs up about conserving water.. how if you take shorter showers (we are only allowed 3 min showers!) you can save 12L of water per minute.. etc etc.
My hostel is pretty rad, love havin my own room. But Its definitely a couples hostel.. so I have met really no one. I tried to talk to another guy by himself today but he seemed a bit afraid, maybe its cuz I hadn't showered yet, who knows. haha.
I haven't done anything too exciting yet except explore downtown, it's amazing. They have this 'mall' called the Queen St. Mall.. but it's like.. you are just walkin down the street and you can walk into the stores right from the street.. so its almost like an outdoor mall. Which I love!

I think I'm going to go to the Koala Sanctuary tommorow, if I have enough energy. I still feel kind of hungover for my jet lag!

ps. the weather here is UNREAL.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb