Final Weekend in Australia - The Clear Up and Rob's Wedding


Advertisement
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Final clear upThe Final clear upThe Final clear up

The final clear up on my last Saturday. All our empty beer bottles have to go...... and the Christmas tree

BRISBANE - (March 2007)



- (Friday 16th to Sunday 19th March) -

So after nearly two years in Australia, the final few days of my time here had finally arrived. After returning from the Whitsunday Islands on the evening of Thursday 15th March, I had just three more days left in Australia. However, before leaving I still had lots of things to do, one of which included clearing up the flat (photo's attached of some of our beer collection going to the tip!) and attending Rob's wedding on the Sunday, my very last full day in Australia.

Friday was spent getting all my things together for the forthcoming trip, attending Friday evening drinks at my now old work place, and then heading off to the Suncorp Stadium to watch the Bronco's (Brisbane) lose yet again in the first game of the season to the Cowboys (North Queensland....... meaning a local derby .. of sorts) at Rugby (Football) League. Apart from the result (16-23 to the Cowboys), it was not a bad match for a rugby game although it is never as good as (proper) football. However the match was made all the better for being played in
The day after the night beforeThe day after the night beforeThe day after the night before

Did we drink all that last night? - James not feeling the best
front of nearly 50,000 people, something that English Rugby League clubs can only dream about!

And so Sunday, my last day, finally arrived. And what a good way to end my 20 or so months in Australia as well, being invited to Rob's wedding. I hope Rob doesn't mind me putting a couple of the photographs on this page. It was a fantastic day and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I don’t think I've been to a wedding where so much time and planning had gone into the presentation, speeches, slide shows, games etc. Although I do wish Rob had warned me before hand and I could have brushed up on my 'Cantonese' as the bits of the speeches that seemed to get most of the laughs all seemed to be in Cantonese. (And Rob, I didn't hear a single "Mayo" throughout it all!!)

Anyway, Cheers Rob.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The Apartment ComplexThe Apartment Complex
The Apartment Complex

Time for a last swim
Rob and JennyRob and Jenny
Rob and Jenny

My last day and event in Australia - Rob and Jenny's wedding
RobRob
Rob

Me, Aaron, Michelle, Ashley
AlibiAlibi
Alibi

Time for a last one at 'the local'?


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb