Town 1770 & Agnes Water


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » 1770
June 2nd 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The overnight bus to Town 1770 wasn't too bad & I think because it had been such a long day hanging around that we were shattered & managed to get some sleep. It was quite a relaxed atmosphere at 1770, (named after the year Captain James Cook discovered it), & not as commercial as Airlie or Cairns which was a refreshing change.

On Friday we had a lazy day, we did a tour that the hostel provided free of charge, driving round the two small towns & highlighting the activities & things we could see & do during our stay. We had some lunch & a lazy afternoon lying in hammocks, reading our books & nosing around town, it was nice & relaxing. We had a bit of wine & a civilised evening.

On Saturday morning Claire & I got up really early & did yoga on the beach, it was great, I really loved it; James got up but wimped out as it was 'cold' but it was actually nice & sunny & not cold at all on the beach. Yoga went on long than planned so I couldn't do the surf lesson I wanted to do but figured I could do it in Noosa or somewhere else. At 2pm we did a 'Scooter Roo' tour on choppers around Agnes Water & 1770, there were 29 of us. At first I was a bit wobbly & nervous but I soon got used to it & really enjoyed it. The maximum speed was only 80 kilometres an hour & when the chopper got to 60km/ph it started to shake but stopped at 70km/ph, I think the fastest I went was 75km/ph but I was happy doing my own thing.

At one point James sort of went off the road & when he caught us back up & we stopped at the junction he asked if I had seen him go off road & I said yes & asked what had happened, he told me he had been day dreaming! We saw some kangaroos & watched a bit of a rubbish sunset in 1770 on the rocks overlooking the water by the marina; I really enjoyed our day.

We didn't really do a lot on Saturday night as we had an early bus on Sunday morning.

I liked Agnes Water & 1770, I would have liked to have been able to stay longer but we were on a time time scale & had out trip booked for Fraser Island so needed to get to Hervey Bay. The small towns were a nice change from the other places we had been on the East Coast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb