Uluru


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
February 4th 2017
Published: February 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After a late night at Uluru seeing it with the setting sun, we were up at 4am to again go to the large monolith and see it with the rising sun. For such an out of the way place, in the middle of the Australian desert, there were hundreds of tourists out late and up at dawn doing the same thing we have done. Also last night, I had a problem transferring my photos of Uluru to my laptop so I was unable to post them on the blog. The pictures last night were only of the site Kata Tjuta, which was spectacular on it’s own.



Uluru is a holy site for the local aborigines, including the water hole and cave art. I have posted some additional pictures today. Amazing views of this monolith with the sun in different positions.



After our early morning activity, we returned to the hotel for a shower and breakfast.



We then left for a cultural center which provided videos and artwork produced by the local aborigines. It was interesting, but we had to contend with heat - 100 degrees - and more flies.



I received many comments about the netting I wore as protection from the flies. While I would rather have not worn it, my sense of style went out the window with the buzzing, itching flies. And, looking at my photos from these days, I really do think the netting I selected highlighted my eyes (;->>.



Later in the day we boarded our plane to fly to Cairns, on the northeast coast and a bus trip up the coast next to the Coral Sea to our home for the next three days in Port Douglas. I am looking forward to one of the highlights of the trip, snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb