Attack at Ayers Rock


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
January 24th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

At Christmas 2008 my husband and I travelled to Australia to have Christmas with my daughter and her husband who have been living there since February 2007. Neither my husband nor I have been there before so my daughter arranged lots of activities for us including Ayers rock.
We thoroughly enjoyed the bus trip photo opportunity, and native Aboriginal walk around the rock but it was a little difficult for my daughter to be away from the resort for too long as she is pregnant. As she was getting off the bus to rush to the resort reception toilet a family of Germans who had been on the trip too accosted her about sunglasses. She did not understand their broken English and told them she was going to the toilet. On her way to the toilet the teenage boy in this family asked her to come to his parents. She ignored this request as her bladder was more important. On her way out of the reception area which was full of new visitors checking in, the family barricaded her preventing her from exiting outside of the reception where my husband and her husband were waiting. (I also had visited the toilet and was not around to protect her from what eventually happened.)
The woman of the family produced some broken sunglasses which apparently my daughter had trod on as she exited the bus. The German woman had dropped them outside of the bus door, where she was standing, just as my daughter stepped out of the bus. Clearly an accident and as much the woman’s fault for being careless as my daughter for not looking at what she ‘might step on’ while exiting the bus. (I am being facetious here, as who looks to see if they are going to step on something when they leave a bus?)
The German woman was waving the sunglasses at my daughter angrily and it looked like they wanted my daughter to replace them. My daughter explained “I have accidentally stood on your sunglasses which you have dropped end of story”. As I have said above they tried to prevent her from leaving the reception area by standing in her way, which was also barred by the queue of new visitors waiting to check in at the reception desk. At this my daughter stretched both hands out in front of her (level with her shoulders) to part them and let her past. The German woman then kicked my daughter in the groin (near her belly) she used her arms to protect her baby (ducking down) then the German man put her into a head lock and dragged her to towards the reception desk, by the time the short distance was covered my daughter had been punched in the head by the German man three times. This German couple did all of this in front of their children who were waiting in the reception with them!!!
The receptionist saw my daughter being assaulted and also saw some of the punches.
My daughter was in shock and was hysterical and incoherent by this time and we did not know what had happened until we all got her into the apartment. My husband and I immediately went back to the reception and reported this attack and my daughter’s husband contacted the reception and demanded to have the police involved.
To cut to the chase.
The police came to the apartment to interview her and to get descriptions of the German family. They were able to identify them easily as they were the only family with young children on this Ayers rock sunrise trip (there were two small girls and a teenage boy, there was an older woman too who may have been the grandmother.)
My daughter was thoroughly examined by a doctor at the medical centre and was examined one hour later again as they were not happy with the level of protein in her urine.
We went to the police station where the police woman took a statement from my daughter.
The receptionist and the German couple were at the police station to make their statements.
The next day my daughter returned to the police station as arranged to report to the police about her physical condition and to discuss the outcome.
The choices we were asked to make during the interview with the police, at the apartment, were to give the German couple a warning and an on the spot fine. This was unacceptable to us because what if my daughter had a miscarriage in the following days after this trauma? They would have got off too lightly in my opinion.
The other choice was to prosecute. We took this line even if it did not go to court, it would exact more inconvenience and distress in turn (although nothing they experienced could be as bad as being attacked by two adults, kicked, dragged by the neck in a headlock and punched in the head three times).
The German couple were fined about 250 dollars.
Question _ does anyone know how I can spread this Blog further afield than here?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1131s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb