THE ROCK


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
September 28th 2018
Published: September 28th 2018
Edit Blog Post

THE ROCK!

Mostly pic's today folks.

During the ride out to Uluru I officially hit the 3,000 mile mark on the Rideabout Oz 2018 trip. The Rock is about 8 miles from the Resort. There are a host of ways to tour the rock: You can drive around it on your own, drive around in a tour bus, do a bicycle ride around it, take a segway ride around it, Certain areas you can walk around it, take a helicopter ride over it, and sometimes you can walk over it,

The walking over is the most controversial - you will see some of the signs put up by the aboriginal tribes asking that you respect their spiritual land and not walk up the roped path to the top.

The rock itself is pretty Amazing in that it literally is a single huge Rock. I also went through the cultural center but no pictures were allowed. I leave in the morning early as I have my longest day of the trip tomorrow_ 456 miles to Coober Pedy. Coober Pedy is a big mining area for Opals, other gem stones, and gold. Because of the mining there are a lot caves in the CP area - so tomorrow night I will actually be staying in a cave motel.

I plan to just barely stick to my vow of not riding until an hour after Sunrise tomorrow, so that it isn't too late when I get there tomorrow afternoon.

Back at ya from Coober Pedy!!! P>S> there are 10 pictures in this set of pictures.



G'Day Mate


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb