Katherine Gorge


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
June 21st 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

When I was in Sydney my local friend Susan made me a list of “must see attractions” in Australia. By now I have covered almost all, only 2 left - Great Barrier Reef (arguably the Ningaloo is better but anyway I didn’t really see it) and Katherine gorge. So today I visited Katherine gorge. You can either canoe there or join a cruise - I think I had enough canoe experience in NZ so I joined the relaxed cruise. In the wet season the river is high and you can’t cruise it at all. In the dry season the water level is down to break it to 13 sections (called the 13 gorges), separated by rocky parts. We had to move from one boat another between gorges, sometime also walking for up to 40 minutes over large rocks, so going up to the 5th took a few hours. It was a nice day out and the gorges were really gorgeous... The company was mainly gray army and that was a bit boring even though some were really nice. The barbeque lunch was great… well you might get the feeling that it wasn’t my most favorite place here, I did think I could enjoy doing it in 2-3 hours and get going, but at least nature didn’t disappoint me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 23; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb