A day in Katherine Gorge


Advertisement
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I spent another day in Kununurra relaxing in the sunshine before hopping on a bus in the morning to Katherine. I got to Katherine in the early evening. I lugged all my stuff to my hostel. There are a lot more aboriginals up in this area. They hang around in groups all over the town.

Katherine is an interesting town. It's not very big and there isn't much to do besides go to the gorge out of town. I was up early the next morning and on a bus out to Katherine gorge which they call nitmiluk in aboriginal. I walked around the information center before making my way down to the boat launch.

I decided to do a 3 gorge tour. There isn't much walking involved except 400m between the gorges. We all piled onto our boat and a local aboriginal was our guide telling us about the area. The river gorge is home to a large population of fresh water crocodiles. Occasionally saltwater crocodiles come in but there are traps put out to catch them and then they are moved to another place.

We made our way through the first gorge before we had to get off the boat and make a short walk to the next gorge. On the way though we were able to see some aboriginal rock art. We all piled on to the next boat and made our way down through the second gorge. Again we had to hop off this boat and make a short walk to the third boat.

In the third gorge at the very end we spotted a wild freshwater crocodile also known as a freshie. He didn't look real just sitting there on the rock. We hopped out of the boat and had a walk around to see the small rapids on the other side. When we got back on the boat a canoe was pulling up and hadn't seen the crocodile and as our boat started moving the croc slid into the water and really frightened the people in the canoe haha.

We headed back to the first gorge and piled off the boat. I caught the bus back into town. Katherine was a really nice gorge and was safer for me since I was mostly on a boat haha.





Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th September 2011

I want to see more gorge photos!!! hehehe
9th September 2011

Wre they as big as the ones flying around Sydney? It was Sydney wasn\'t it? Great scenery in gorge.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1012s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb