Easter Holiday- Darwin


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So to continue from the last blog I flew into Darwin Easter Sunday morning and my flight arrived after 12. I enjoyed the day looking around Darwin even though there wasn't much to see. The beach had crocodiles in it so you couldn't go swimming. I enjoyed my Easter Sunday with a bite to eat and a few drinks. The next day began early. I got up to begin a 2 day tour fo Kakadu National Park. We stared our journey with a pit stop to get to know everyone and grab a cold drink. Here there was a tank with 2 crocodiles in them and they were quite large as well as the largest crocodile jaw in the world. From here we went on a river tour of alligator river looking for crocodiles. Now I found it quite interesting that it was called aligator river but this was because who ever named it assumed that crocodiles were the same thing as alligators. After that we went on a hike through to see aboriginal art. This was different and we learned about all of their culture. I also found it interesting that when we went to the top they were actually burning off some of the grass. See in Australia there is so much bush (grass) that if they don't burn it off it gets out of control, so the rangers have a way to burn just the grass throughout the year. Also from the top of the hike we saw the rock that Crocodile Dundee stood on when he spun around that noise maker over his head. After that we headed back to our camp site and camped out for the day. The next day was full of swimming in waterfalls. We got to swim 2 times which was great. It had been so hot the day before that the water was amazing. After the swimming we went back to travel center and then eventually my tour was over. There were only 3 of us that booked the 2 day tour and everyone else booked a 3 day tour. So me and a spanish couple celebrating their honeymoon got dropped off. We returned back to Darwin. My flight left at 145am and I got into Melbourne around 7am and I went straight to work.

I hope you've enjoyed reading about my travels so far. I have less than 2 weeks left until I return home. I have one more trip to the Great Ocean road before I pack up and leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this was on the first stop- a tree fell down and someone went to go cut it up to move it when a croc jumped out and bit the chainsaw...look real close and you can see all of the scratches
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

heres the shot of one of the crocs...its in the bottom left near the fence
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this is the scull thats more than a meter long
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this is when we went on the alligator river...one of the crocs we saw
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this was a beautiful flower. If you look at the center of it you can see that they have seeds. This are edible and they taste like a mix between a cucumber and an almond.
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this was a picture of aboriginal art- a turtle
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this was Crocodile Dundee's rock
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

I'm up there hanging out
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

this was crazy...I ran away after I took the picture
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

the top of one of the falls
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

the bottom of the falls
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

the group waiting for the guide
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

catching another swim
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

having some lunch
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

standing next to a termite hill- this is made out of their spit and shit
Darwin- Kakadu ParkDarwin- Kakadu Park
Darwin- Kakadu Park

a last shot with the spanish honeymooners


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb