Big Round Rocks!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Devils Marbles
November 7th 2009
Published: November 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm so talented!I'm so talented!I'm so talented!

Devils Marbles, NT
6th November 09 - 7th November 09

Devils Marbles Conservation Reserve

Wasn't a long drive today down to Devils Marbles from Banka Banka. I got to the Marbles around noon so I had the whole afternoon to enjoy the surrounds.

As you can imagine, it was fanastic... and kind of weird as well. There are so many of these huge round boulders. Whenever you see pictures of the Devils Marbles you always see that same image of the two huge rocks with someone stuck in the middle of them 'holding' them up (um just like the picture to the right - sorry)! Makes you think there are only a few of these rocks. No no no. They are everywhere!

As I had all afternoon, I enjoyed just slowly making my way through all the rocks and exploring. It's so hot and dry out here, it makes you wonder how there is life here at all! Saw a small monitor lizard digging a hole under a rock, obviously trying to seek out a cooler spot.

The campground is nice and very picturesque with the rocks standing over you. Being the middle of the day it was too hot to walk around so I camped under the shelter and spent my afternoon getting to know the little Spinifex pigeons that were keeping me company! Spinifex pigeons are awesome. I just love them. They can fly, but choose not too (lazy arses) and well with a spike on top of their heads, they really are the rock stars of the bird world. Well, they managed to keep me entertained for a few hours. Honestly, there was no one around. I only had pigeons to talk to. Does that make me one of those 'strange' people? Oh well, don't care if it does.

I was waiting for it to get cooler and for the sunset when the landscape starts to turn that pinky orange colour and everything just looks beautiful in the light. I climbed up to the top of a pile of rocks that had one of the best views out over the rocky landscape. It was awesome up there and the perfect place to watch the sunset. Very peaceful.

When the sun set and the night got darker oh my god did the stars begin to shine. It was one of the most beautiful nights I
Spinifex pigeonsSpinifex pigeonsSpinifex pigeons

Devils Marbles, NT
have seen yet. The moon came up around midnight. Really special.

I enjoyed my stay at the Devils Marbles. It was quite and relaxing and felt good to be out in the middle of nowhere. Headed off early the next morning down to Alice Springs. On my way through Barrow Creek I couldn't help but think about the Falconio story. You may remember... 2001 the two English backpackers travelling in a kombie van were waved down by this guy who ended up killing the boyfriend but the girlfriend managed to escape and hide out in the bush till she was rescued (real 'Wolf Creek' stuff). They found the guy who killed the boyfriend but they have never found the boyfriends body. It is a huge mystery what actually happened... This all happened near Barrow Creek and I can honestly say that driving through this area was really eerie. It's a big country out here, wouldn't be hard to 'get rid of someone', and never find the body which is what happened! What is it with the centre of Australia? Soon I will be down at Uluru and we all know the mystery that surrounds Uluru (dingo/ baby)!!!

There
I didn't do it!I didn't do it!I didn't do it!

Devils Marbles, NT
were a few points of interest on the way. I passed some interesting ruins of homesteads that used to support the old Telegraph line, went through the small town of Wyellie Well - UFO captial of Australia (I am not kidding), stopped at the marker for the exact point that marks the Centre of Australia (apparently), Crossed the Tropic of Capricorn and brought a sausage for a poor homeless dog at Ti Tree Roadhouse! I read a good quote "Saving one animal will not change the world; But surely the world will change for that one animal". What can I say, I'm just a big animal lover.

About 4.5 hours later... Welcome to Alice Springs, heart of the Outback....


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Devils Marbles, NT
CampgroundCampground
Campground

Devils Marbles, NT
Only in the Outback...Only in the Outback...
Only in the Outback...

Stuart Hwy, southbound, NT
oohh... scary...oohh... scary...
oohh... scary...

Barrow Creek, NT
Old ruins on the telegraph lineOld ruins on the telegraph line
Old ruins on the telegraph line

Stuart Hwy, just out of Alice, NT
Tropic of CapricornTropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn

Stuart HWY, NT


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb