Count the carts!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
January 17th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hanging outHanging outHanging out

on a shopping cart. People actually do this. They sit around on the side of the road on a turned over cart.
Darwin is the world capital of misplaced shopping carts! It's really bizarre how you see them EVERYWHERE. People take them from the stores and just leave them wherever they feel like. We had one parked just outside our building for a few days until I couldn't take it anymore and I wheeled it to the nearest store. There was a new one left in the same spot the next day. It looks so dumpy.

So after spending some time wondering what I could do to make Darwin look prettier and help the stores hold on to their carts, I thought of the solution: locking wheels!!! You know the ones that lock once you wheel the cart too close to the invisible fence? I saw them at some store somewhere in Ottawa once. So I looked into becoming a distributor figuring I could make some serious cash starting a business. I'm totally serious. I thought maybe I could sell the wheels to all the stores here, who must lose loads of money from all their missing carts. In case you're interested, a standard shopping cart costs anywhere between 75-200$.

But then I realized I don't want to be the bad
Count the carts!Count the carts!Count the carts!

When we go driving, we play this game where we count the number of shopping carts from Point A to Point B.
guy, you know? People clearly use the carts all the time and maybe they really depend on the carts to get their groceries and other goods home. So I dropped it. (Not to mention, it seemed like a big effort to actually go through with the idea so that may have played a small part in dropping it also.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb