Skydive!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes, on Saturday 17th May I jumped out of an aeroplane at 12,000 feet! Heather, Simone, Clare, Mike, Jamie, Darren and Oli have already done a dive, so i figured I was the only one left of the original team 8 to go!

I got myself to Darwin airport on the shuttle bus, and met Mel, who meets the skydivers on the beach with a big purple flag when they land. She let me go with her to watch the earlier group jump, which made me see how less scary it was than I had thought! I had been nervous all week, but as soon as I got there I was fine!

The other person jumping with me was a guy called Brendan - his instructor was called Ash and mine was Coey. We harnessed up and did some practise exercises on how to exit the plane, but being me (and being bad at instructions) I couldn't for the life of me remember what I was supposed to be doing, haha. So on my DVD I got of my jump, it shows me getting everything wrong, lol. We went up in the plane (which was tiny!) and Coey strapped my hips and shoulders to him. The ride up in the plane to 12,000 feet seemed to take forever! But we got there and Brendan jumped....I was like OMG as I saw him leave the plane, but I didn't have time to think cos I was shuffled to the door next! I just kept looking up at the sky, not even down at the ground, haha and the next thing I knew I was hurtling towards earth! It didn't feel like I was falling though - more like I was just flying, which was so cool!!! I had an earache but as soon as my ears popped it was fine. I had 45 secs of freefall (about 40 seconds in I was thinking "ummm shouldn't the parachute have opened by now?!") lol. But when the parachute opened, it was cool - I just felt like I was floating around over the earth. So cool!!! I got to steer with the rein things, which was cool. It was a relief to see us getting closer to the beach, and I nailed the landing, not like most people who fall over, hehe.

Afterwards, the instructors gave me a beer which was good, and then they sorted my DVD (which will be uploaded to facebook soon!) and dropped me at the bus stop to get home.

I still can't believe I skydived! How cool! I knew Mum would kill me when I told her (which is why I didn't tell her before - sorry Mum!)

The last few days we've just been lazing round the pool as per usual, and going out for a few drinks.

Really can't believe I'm leaving Australia in under 2 weeks. Denial denial denial!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb