European Contiki Adventure 2nd June - 4th July 2022


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flight route Qantas QF1

Darwin - London

Day 1.5: 2nd – 3rd June, 2022:



Darwin – London:



I can’t take this flight anymore, S.O.S



Now, where do I begin with this one. For now on when someone suggest to my that flying is easy now with how far planes can travel, I will reply saying, “I would rather have many stop overs as possible”, you’d think I’m insane but hear me out, being stuck on a plane for 17 hours straight will make you think otherwise. After a quick 1 hour stop over at Darwin Airport where I helped myself to a beer, we once again boarded the same Qantas 787 that took us from Sydney to Darwin at 8:45pm, this time it will be taking us to London from Darwin over 17 hours. It was absolute hell, the meals they gave us was bland and small, had a few more beers which made me busting to go to the bathroom, but the man sitting in the aisle seat was sleeping and I was too shy to wake him up so I had to hold it until for a good 2 hours. I attempted to sleep, however the noise cancellation on my headsets wasn’t working so I had to tune out the roaring sound of the engine and the large amount of screaming babies. However, I managed to finish watching the 5 Star Wars movies that I downloaded, so that’s a plus. Anyway, after hours of pure boredom and torture, my heart was racing out of pure excitement and relieve when we flew over the English Channel and started making our decedent to London Heathrow Airport at around 6am. Due to aviation curfews, we had to fly in circles until the airport gave us the go ahead to land, this gave me a nice overhead tour of the city as I saw a number of landmarks such as the river Thames and stadiums.









Eventually landing at Heathrow, I attempted to leave the plane as quick as possible, however I had to wait for everyone in front of me to leave the aircraft. As I stepped foot out of the plane I hastily walked to customs which was an extremely simple process, and luckily my bag was one of the first few to be placed on the baggage carrier.



TLDR Summary:



TLDR (Too Long; Didn’t read), this isn’t the most exciting section of my travel blog as I mostly complained about my experience during the 17 hour flight. But to make it quick, the flight was awful and if your planning on flying to London from anywhere in Australia, I seriously recommend you avoid the direct Qantas flights from Australia and rather choose a flight with a stop over to easily balance the trip, such as Dubai as this will make your journey more enjoyable and at a cheaper cost. Hope you have a read of the next part of the blog as this is where my holiday truly begins.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb