Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Top End


May 24, Sunday.
I took a quick look around the town of Tenant Creek this morning. Found an old mineshaft just on the outskirts of town. I ventured into the entrance and walked along the dark passage until I saw daylight ahead. The roof of the mine had collapsed and a large hole in the roof allowed the morning sun to shine in. I was surprised to be greeted by a couple of young blokes that had camped there overnight. One of them was eager to show me some small bats that were roosting on the roof.
Later that morning I took a track about 5 kilometres off the main highway where I found the Devils Pebbles, which is a feature similar to the Devils Marbles, smaller but just as impressive. I arrived in Daily Waters around 3:30 in the afternoon and booked into the pubs caravan park. The ground is hard in this area; so stronger pegs will be needed for the tent. Treated myself to a good meal. The last time I ate out was at Cooper Pedy. Today 398 kilometres were added to the total for this trip. The weather is a lot hotter.

May 25, Monday.
Left Daly Waters about 7:30 this morning and headed north. It was a warm day so I decided to wear shorts. Did more filming today of some termite mounds, which seem to be in abundance in this part of the country. The trees are lush and green. Had a swim at Mataranka Hot Springs.
It was a short 106-kilometre trip into Katherine, which was broken up with a one-hour trip underground in a cave called Cutter Cutter. Everything is working well and I’m now camped beside a billabong in a caravan park just 8 kilometres west of Catherine. I spent time talking with an English girl who was camped beside me, before turning in.

May 26, Tuesday.
Today was the last day of travelling north. I left Catherine around 7:30 in the morning. Because I was travelling through this area again on the way back I decided to miss out on the sites of Catherine. The road out to Douglas Hot Springs was dusty. The springs themselves were very hot. As you move further down the hot water springs you join a cool running creek. You can literally have hot running water on one side of your body and cool water on the other. Countryside is a lot greener but the ground is hard, which makes it difficult to put the pegs in. Everything including myself is dusty and the weather is hot. Arrived in Darwin in the afternoon. Managed to do 426 kilometres today.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 96; dbt: 0.1885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb