Hurry Back to the OUTBACK


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

HURRY BACK TO THE OUTBACK

Alice Springs the home of the largest rock in the world, if you don't know, google, Uluru or Ayers Rock. The owner Don, has a private plane and pilot who can take me to there, can't wait to see it myself. Oprah came in December and visited there, spoke about it on her talk show, a spiritual place and spectacular sunset. I couldn't pass up this authentic experience, the Northern Territory where tribes still exist and home of many Aborigines, the indigenious people. A unique opportunity but also making the money honey, $700 per week with housing and food included. I need to be buckled down and isolated on a cattle station to force myself not to spend, rather save, save, save. I work with Aboriginal artists, they paint dotted, abstract art. I build their canvases on a work frame, prime and color them, give them colors, serve them tea and cook lunch. Sometimes, I assist in the shop when they buy their goods after they get paid in cash daily. Their language sounds like baby talk, I bet goo-goo-gah-gah means something. No really, quaja is water and moora means good. See how everything ends in "A."

It's only been about 37 years since they were introduced to civilization and the government provides funds for their homes, children, education and health care. Basically, they don't ever have to work and live off "income management." When they eat, they don't need utensils, the babies run naked and sadly enough peed in the shop and rolls around in dirt, don't need to wash clothes regularly, go in the creek, which is like their bathing, have dogs without vetenarian care and walk bare-foot. But what we think breaks all the rules of living are normal ways they live. They sometimes fry up lizards and love Kangroo tail which I thought was cut up like meat you buy in the market but it was literally the tail. Don's son, Baden, said he tried it and almost threw up immediately after biting into it, he described it as fatty and tough like a tendon and to top it off furry on the outside.

A lil Getaway

Baden, Owen, Ryan, Sophie and I went to Homestead Dam today followed by watching the sunset at Annie's lookout. The Dam holds only rain water that flows from the rocks. It was very warm with some cold spots, but refreshing. We even brought kayaks and got a little active. It was a nice getaway from the station. The sunset was beautiful especially with the clouds with lightening, I'm pretty certain it will rain in that area. I was thankful we were able to see delightful and colorful clouds. Afterwards, to top off the thrill, I stood on the back of the ute and filmed a bit of the scenery. Overall, I'm pleased with today and learning how to appreciate change and adjusting better each time I'm faced with new situations. It makes me feel that life isn't so bad and I really shouldn't speak about the negative factors because a day like today makes up for it. The good usually out weighs the bad for me. Just think, there are worse situations in the world: starvation, injuries, diseases, homelessness, and much more beyond what I know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb