A Town Called Alice


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Telegraph StationTelegraph StationTelegraph Station

The old Telegraph Station outside Alice Springs
After two days on buses with only a quick shower at the transit centre to freshen me up, it was nice to have a shave and a decent length shower. Refreshed and ready to go, I set off for the telegraph station, which was a short walk out of the town, but was the reason that the town was founded. It is built beside a water hole in the bed of the dry River Todd - Charles Todd being the name of a telegraph big-wig and, in case you were wondering, Alice was his wife (I'm just full of useful facts today).

I loved Alice Springs. It has a special charm that I never came across anywhere else I visited due, I think, to the fact that it is not too big and busy or too small and cliquey, and the fact that it is hundred of miles from outside influences. Some locals told me that it had sadly lost much of its original character, apparently due to its recent boom.

The centre of town consisted of a shopping mall, which was peaceful and sedate unlike the total mayhem of those back in England, especially on a Saturday afternoon.
Heavitree GapHeavitree GapHeavitree Gap

Heavitree Gap just south of Alice Springs
Mind you, one thing that you need to get used to in Australia is that the whole country closes down on a Saturday afternoon as the entire population is either out taking part in sport or are sat in front of their TVs watching sport. I'm not sure if that includes the Sheilas!

Next I climbed Anzac Hill which gave a good view over the town, but not in the league of Ayers Rock - oops Uluru. Finally I walked to Heavitree Gap, which is a gap - shock! - in a rocky barrier which runs along the south of the town.

Later that evening, I caught the overnight bus to Adelaide, but I was definitely planning on coming back here again and for a lot longer (see Aboriginal Artefacts - Made in China).


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Telegraph StationTelegraph Station
Telegraph Station

In side the old Telegraph Station
Anzac Hill ViewAnzac Hill View
Anzac Hill View

View over Alice Springs from Anzac Hill


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb