The Desert Chapters


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
December 19th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MoiMoiMoi

Am so hard core I don't even wear shoes these days!
Hello again! Its that time already. It’s come around so fast I can’t quite believe I'm leaving already. I arrived here in Alice Springs 4 months ago. Weary and bleary eyed I tumbled out of the Ghan that had carried me 1500K along one of Australia's great train journey's from Adelaide in Southern Australia to here in Alice Springs, slap bang in the middle of Central Australia. Another 1500K North and you’ll hit Darwin, with little in between. Stepping off that train really was like stepping into another country. Alice is a small town of about 28,000 people, in existence due to 19th centuary colonial pioneers who opened up Australia’s interior to it's new settlers. It is the hub of Central Australia with all the goings on and creature comforts of a capital city, yet located within the ancient outback landscape and Aboriginal culture. The perfect place to call home for next 4 months.

I’ll try and condense the last 4 wonderful, amazing, crazy months into a couple of paragraphs, though I could write a book! I’ll start with work. In less than a week I was working as a Women's Case Worker at Alice Springs Women’s Shelter, a refuge for women and children suffering from domestic violence. The majority of clients at the shelter are Indigenous Australians, which reflects the population demographics of the Northern Territory, of which the shelter serves a huge catchment. Alice Springs is one of very few ‘white’ Australian towns in the NT. Most communities throughout the Territory house almost exclusively Indigenous Australians. This is after all bush country. This is the land of the Aboriginal Australians. As a result I found my work massively interesting and rewarding. I’ve learnt about the traditions of the oldest living culture in the world years old (some say as old as 65,000 years) and seen some strength in women you would not believe.

And then there was the play. Imagine your backyard stretching as far as the eye can see in every direction and you’re beginning to get the idea. Alice is surrounded by various deserts, the ancient MacDonnell Ranges, watering holes and great expanses of blue sky. Good times were had going for bike rides, moonlight light bike rides, rock climbing, camping, swimming in swimming holes and through gorges, hiking up mountains to watch the sunset, 4x4 driving, busting some moves when the desert festival came
Alice SpringsAlice SpringsAlice Springs

Mt Gillan in the distance, taken from the hill behind the best coffee shop in town
to town, mixing with the local cowboys and European backpackers at the local bar, having friends round for a barbie, chilling at the pool, dancing to reggae, going to exhibitions, watching the rain and contemplating life with friends.

It’s quite scary that I have so many good memories for such a short period of time. I’ve quite literally had the time of my life in Alice, which I know has been a result of the people I’ve met, a couple of whom have cropped up from previous Australia chapters. And the same goes for Australia. My exit date is stamped loud and clear on my passport for less than 10 days, and I can’t believe where the last year has gone. I’ve had the time of my life and met some very special people that I pray I will get to see again someday. The one down side to travelling I’ve discovered is saying goodbye. I’m not much of a fan, but would rather have to say goodbye than have never said hello. So "Goodbye Australia and all you amazing people who made my time so special. You know who you are."



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Glen HelenGlen Helen
Glen Helen

The view from the top of a climb
BojanglesBojangles
Bojangles

A night at the local bar, hats part of dress code
A day at the racesA day at the races
A day at the races

'Dan and Han'
Reggae NightReggae Night
Reggae Night

Ana and Leah - the housemates
The night the Todd flowedThe night the Todd flowed
The night the Todd flowed

This river never actually has water in it so this is exciting!!
Redbank GorgeRedbank Gorge
Redbank Gorge

Swimming through gorges (no dead cow in this one though!!)
Palm ValleyPalm Valley
Palm Valley

4x4 driving weekend
Dan and HanDan and Han
Dan and Han

Enjoying a rainy saturday
MiriamMiriam
Miriam

You ride everywhere in Alice, even the fanydress party!


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb