Hello from the heat of Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
January 15th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having escaped the 'Gang Lands' of Africa AKA Jo'burg, I was greeted in Perth by my American tourist look-a-like father! Don't think I can talk though, I was barefoot having had my shoes stolen from the hostel in Jo'burg! Was great to see him and his friend Bob. We spent a couple of days in Perth itself before investigating the south of Western Australia.

Perth was a really thriving, cosmopolitan city. It marked my entry back into civilisation although it did take me a while to stop being suspect, expecting to be robbed all the time! As we travelled south to Bussleton and then Albany, I was soon astounded by not only the beauty of the beaches but the diversity of them too. One minute the waters are very calm and tranquil and the next they're tremendous crashing waves. The stunning scenery and weather weren't to last though. We arrive in Esperance alongside tropical cyclone 'Isabelle'. The rain and winds were full on resulting in roads flooding, trees being felled and a bridge that we drove over just hours before collapsed. The Aussies thought it was very dramatic, referring to it as 'The Perfect Storm' but we thought it was a bit of an exaggeration - there wasn't even much thunder and lightening! We then visited the mining town of Kalgoorlie where, much to my disappointment, we didn't strike gold! From there we drove back to Perth, rescuing my mislaid passport, credit cards and money on the way!

From Perth, we flew to Alice Springs where we embarked on a camping safari including plus 40 degree temperatures and very early 4am starts - it felt like I was back in Africa! We covered a massive 1300km in the three days and saw loads of great scenery, including the mighty Ayres Rock which was stunning.

Dad and Bob have now flown to Adelaide leaving me to continue my Aussie adventure with Kathryn. Bring on Cairns and the crocs!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb