Day one - leaving on a jet plane....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
April 18th 2011
Published: April 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As most of u know I'm not overly a morning person so it was a slightly tired Paula who checked into Belfast International Airport on saturday morning. 'Are u excited ?' my chaffeur (read mother) had asked on the journey down. I guess I was a bit underwhelmed to her - possibly as I had been busy in work, possibly as i had been to the promised land twice before or possibly as I had only booked the trip six weeks ago so there wasn't the usual Big build up associated with such an adventure. Also I guess the thought of the connection at Heathrow was worrying me slightly. I had 2 1/2 hours to collect my luggage, race between terminals, check in and go through security before the next flight was due to leave.
Thankfully this turned out to be less hassle than i had expected and even had time for a quick dander in Mulberry and Tiffanys (and no helen I didn't purchase my Roxanne - maybe next time!?.
As I am someone who enjoys a little adventure I have been used to making long haul flights though this was the first time I had used Singapore Airways. And whilst budget airlines like Contential or KLM do have their place in making travel more accessible , there is something nice about travelling in more plush surroundings eg Singapore Airways.
Unfortunately though in my haste in checking in on time I had forgotten to request an isle seat and as bad luck would have i was allocated a middle seat on both journeys. Yes I know my wee body is only ickle at 5 ft 2 but as most of u know I enjoy a good stretch out. Unfortunately though I was sandwiched between 2 larger guys like the meat (finest ham of cors) in a sandwich. What was worse was that the french guy (isle seat) rarely moved so i was practically glued to the seat for most of the 1st journey. At this point I decided it may be wise to keep drinks to a minimum (even though free) to avoid constant trips to the toilet.
Anyway back to Singapore Airways if there was very a point i felt short and dowdy it was travelling with the air hostesses on SA. To say they were serene and classy is pretty much on the mark. Their uniform was more like a geishi girl outfit rather than a work uniform (Virgin, BA and Easy jet - take note). They seemed to glide up and down the cabins and even the kids on the flight seemed calm throughout (or maybe they had been drugged to high heaven). Thank goodness however as could u imagine a 13 hr flight with yapping toddlers - MARE!
I was also pleased that on this flight I actually got my choice on meals. First time i travelled with Korean Air due to position of seat i got the choice of Korean option (seaweed soup) or Korean option. ON BOTH MEALS!!!!!!!!!
I can also say Iv never watched as much telly before. I dont think Ill need to hire a movie for the nxt 6 months as I have pretty much seen all the big movies released in last 2 months. Was also pleased i was able to catch the first few episodes of Broadwalk Empire as unfort I don't have Sky Atlantic.
So 12:50 hours later I arrived in Singapore, 2 hours stop over there then an 8 hr flight to Sydney. I know some people are put of travelling to Oz because of this long journey but can honestly say its not that bad esp with the choice of entertainment on board.
Though as I disembarked I did look longingly at the Business class/first class cabin - SOME DAY PAULA SOME DAY!!!!!
So i arrived at Sydney as for anyone who watches those Sydney Patrol programmes about drug smugggling i was living ur viewing. The little beadle dog came sniffing along my bags and at this point i was crapping myself that he might have smelt my extra Crispy Creme donut i had brought from Eng but forgot to declare. Thankfully his nose was on other things.
So this was it - roughly 27 hrs after leaving wee Norn Iron i was here... woo hoo!!!!!!!

Advertisement



18th April 2011

WOW! that was quick!
I really thought that you had won the trip in a competition. You were not a bit excited!!! In fact, the first I heard about it was the the smug farewell greeting on Facebook!! I must admit to being really jealous. The only long haul flight I have done is to Las Vegas and have always wanted to fly Singapore Airlines. I am pleased you are blogging as well. I am a self confessed nosey bitch and love to know everything that is going on around me!!! Have a great time and I await your next post!!! Sarah xx

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb