Tully, Sydney and other news.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
January 11th 2009
Published: January 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TullyTullyTully

From Tully back down to Brisbane - all the streets & highways were flooded.
Recent update: Sydney pictures.

So, finally another update.

After the road trip M. and I stayed in Cairns for a few days and went on a day trip up to Port Douglas and the Tablelands (very beautiful area + cute little town) and on a diving and snorkeling cruise to the Great Barrier Reef. The diving was surprisingly non-exciting; only a short dive and not much to see. The snorkeling, however, was beautiful! We weren't lucky enough to see turtles or even sharks but the fish and corals were all we needed to see. I have to admit I was quite disappointed and a little shocked though to see how many dead corals we ended up seeing and how damaged the reef was.

M. then left Cairns and flew back to Brisbane. I stayed a few more days, trying to find a fruit picking job and since that didn't work out I travelled back to Mission Beach (few relaxed days on the beach) and then to Tully, a small town close to Mission Beach and apparently THE place to find farm work.
I didn't find a job though, mainly because of bad timing (school holidays +
SydneySydneySydney

View from N.'s balcony - the Italian Forum.
wet season) and ended up being stuck in Tully for a week with nothing do. I couldn't leave early because I had already paid for a week in advance and I soon realized that my whole staying-in-Tully plan was a nightmare. Tully, you see, is the most boring city I have ever been to. It is built solely for the purpose of housing farmers. Therefore, apart from a few pubs, there is absolutely nothing (and I mean NOTHING) to take your mind of things. So, that's where I was stuck for about a week. I don't remember how I managed to survive but luckily I did!

Next, I decided to go back to Brisbane for a day and meet M. in Byron Bay, then go on traveling to Sydney. However, things didn't work out all that nicely. I had already booked my trip from Brisbane to Sydney and then my flight back to Tully and try the whole work-thing once more (yes, I don't know what I was thinking). Because of an infected mosquito bite I decided to stop by at the hospital to make sure it wasn't anything dangerous. They decided it was and told me I had to stay with them. They made me lie down and put a giant needle through my arm and gave me drugs. That way I missed my bus to Sydney and my (expensive!) flight to Tully...

Long story short, I ended up spending another weekend in Byron Bay and celebrating Australia Day there before heading off to Sydney (where I am at the moment) to visit my friend.
My first impression is very positive, I think I really like it here and I might actually stay and try to find a job here.

That's about it... nothing interesting really, but I promise I'll upload some Sydney-pictures shortly.

Take care, L.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

SydneySydney
Sydney

The famous Opera House.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Opera House from a different angle.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sydney Harbour.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sydney Harbour.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Famous Bondi Beach.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Still Bondi Beach.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Balancing on the Bondi rocks.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Bondi Beach.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Darling Harbour.
SydneySydney
Sydney

Sydney Harbour Bridge.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb