WORKING HOLIDAY - NOT


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wollongong
July 26th 2006
Published: August 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just a reminder that I am actually working through all this. yes i am taking time off here and there but between the here and there it's WORK....remember that? Here's some pictures of a typical day at the office......

this guy walks into the surgery hand bound in a cloth. He's young and smiling, kinda casual. He's hurt himself, I can tell 'cause he's walking with the kind of bravado men get when they have a visible injury.
I've cut my hand. the lump of cloth is placed on the reception desk. Tanya takes his details as he makes jokes.
I'll tell the doctor you're here and he'll fit you in as soon as he can.
that's Ok I can wait. He says
Yeh of course you can.
I forget about him until he's in the treatment room and I can have a good look. The boy is a vet. he was giving a cow a cessarian when the farmer forgot to put down the scalpel before giving him a hand. He had to deliver the calf and stitch the cow before coming in. I watch Dad poke the syringe of Xylocaine into the wound ruffling up the fatty tissue underneath the skin. It stung. The first sign of discomfort he had shown so far. Huynh, our trainee doctor sticks his head in and asks a few questions before disapearing. it's over and done with in 15 mins. Putting stitches in, doing casts, and pain killing are some of the most usefull things of modern medicine. the rest is just smoke and mirrors.....oh and a hell of a lot of beaurocracy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb