It finally happened! I finally fell in love...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wollongong
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

body boardingbody boardingbody boarding

fun fun fun in the sun sun sun
I have fallen in love and we’ve only been here…11 days….My new love is fierce at times, yet always beautiful. My new love pulls me along, sometimes whether I want to go or not. My new love is mysterious, holding so many secrets and adventures. My new love is dangerous and often deceiving, yet can be calm and peaceful as well…oh yes, you guessed it…the ocean - my new love.

We have been body boarding all day. It has honestly been one of the best days I’ve had in a long time. There were huge swells ripping into the shore all morning. I have never had the (wo)man against nature feeling like I did today. I can see how some people see the ocean as having a personality. It almost feels like a living being choosing who it will spare and who it will cast away. I cannot wait to go back.

Tomorrow we are heading to a calmer beach to do some snorkeling. I love how crystal clear the water is. It’s so relaxing just floating on the top waiting to see what kind of crazy things swim by.

The big wedding is on Saturday. After that we are going to stick around here a few more days, maybe do the bar thing one night in Sydney and start to make our way down south to Melbourne and then to Adelaide. I’m pretty excited for Adelaide. Their motto is “Save water, drink wine instead”. There are tones of wineries to see as well as a few underground hostels that might make for a neat stay. How many times do you get to stay somewhere underground?

Other than that we have been buying the local paper and keeping a look out for that miracle car. We don’t want to spend too much, but in the end it will be way cheaper than busing/training/flying. We are looking for a station wagon so we can sleep in the back - hopefully after many days of surfing and beach bumming.

Well that’s all for now!

Peace


Advertisement



2nd February 2006

sounds like you guys are having fun, im jealous of you two. ill email you later
2nd February 2006

The ocean
Yes, you definitely feel the power and beauty of nature when you are near or in the ocean. Having never experienced the ocean around Australia, I can only speak of my East Coast / Newfoundland experience. The shores of Cape Breton and Newfoundland are rocky, and when those waves crash and white foam sprays 20 - 30 feet into the air, you can feel the boom in your chest. Then at other times at other locations, you can be body surfing or floating in the deep blue and feel totally at peace. The one thing I truly miss (aside from family) is the allure of the ocean. It never leaves you.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb