Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 1st 2006
Published: October 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Opera House!Opera House!Opera House!

It is so pretty, it never occured to me until after I left Sydney that I never even went inside it!
Sydney! Many would probably argue that Sydney is one of the nicest cities in the world. The harbour stretches and corners around every angle of the city and it is truly incredible. Many people travel from one point of Sydney to another by ferry, and truth be told, there is no better way to see the city for all it has to offer. Green trees swarm around the glistening red roof tops of all the Sydney houses. Quaint bays and coves make a nice day trip from the central skyscraping madness. There is probably no better way to spend a sunny Sydney afternoon than to take a ferry to Watson's Bay for a beer and fish and chips, or Manly for a perfect beach day.

Central Sydney in itself is what everyone calls the "buzz." Not deviating from a typical city, people walk fast, subways never stop, and people never look you in the eye to say hello or smile. Sydney has an enormous amount of tall, tall skyscrapers. I have once heard they are among the tallest in the world and I wouldn't doubt it. Asian souveneir shops and restaurants can be found everywhere. Sure, Irish pubs are everywhere
Image by the bridgeImage by the bridgeImage by the bridge

I remember this day, it was Easter Sunday, and my last day in Sydney.
around the world, but I swear sometimes I felt I was in Dublin. I met more English and Irish people than actual Aussies while I was in Australia. Part of that may be because I was mixed in with other backpackers.

The infamous Bondi Beach is extremely backpacker friendly and trendy. While the beach itself is not very large and breathtaking, the area is full of good spots to eat and people to meet. A coastal walk stretches along Sydney's edge from Bondi to Bronte beach, visiting a couple of smaller beaches along the way. It is a gorgeous walk and a great way to feel like you're away from the city. Palm Beach is another well known beach just north of Sydney. It is very peaceful and relaxing, and home to the television series, "Home and Away." The Westpoint lookout is not far from Palm Beach, and is a great place to catch one of the best views of the ocean. Old Pittwater Road is also north of Sydney, and the drive winds around sparkling harbours filled with white sails.

Darling Harbour is fantastic! People are drawn to its majestic appeal. Cobblestone plazas and wooden steps circle around the harbour. It is a place where many people go to hang out on the steps and read or write. Cargo Bar, Pontoon, and other classy restaurants and lounges make a great Friday night out. At night the harbour is all lit up, and the lounges are exposed to the outdoors with views of the Vegas-like cacinos on the opposite side.

George Street is the main, and always busy, street that runs through Sydney. I must say that I tried at all costs to avoid that crazed road. After spending a couple of months there I realized why all of the tourists thought Sydney wasn't very big; they typically saw George Street, Bondi Beach, and the Opera House.

The Opera House and Bridge are endlessly marveled at. No matter how many pictures you see before going there, it does not compare to actually being there. The multi-million dollar perfect-shade-of-white architectural piece is the most defining sight in Sydney. Sydney is a must see city for all!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Harbour Side Botannical GardensHarbour Side Botannical Gardens
Harbour Side Botannical Gardens

The botannical gardens is a beautiful place to hang out in the evening. You can watch the sunset right over the opera house and harbour, the day I did I didn't have my camera:(
Bondi BeachBondi Beach
Bondi Beach

It's hip, it's happening, but I never understood the big hype. This is where they film the show "Bondi Rescue" in Australia.
Bronte BeachBronte Beach
Bronte Beach

Bondi beach's neighbor:)
Coastal WalkCoastal Walk
Coastal Walk

There is a coastal walk between all the beaches, and it is amazing! This alone was my favorite part of Sydney.
My Darling HarbourMy Darling Harbour
My Darling Harbour

I LOVE this spot. I lived about a two minute walk from this place. People relax on the steps or go to one of the many classy restaurants and lounges to have a good time. It is all lit up at night- so beautiful, I loved jogging around it at night.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb