Blogg-ercise: Not By Half


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm in there somewhereI'm in there somewhereI'm in there somewhere

that's why i live here
The reason ‘why we live here’ and ‘how good life is over here’ provides constant source of conversation/debate/reasoning amongst the ex-pat community. Being so far away from home and experiencing the same emotions in fact joins many of us together.
So continuously asking the question why do I live the other side of the world from my closest friends and family…… what are my answers?

Well Wednesday last week my boss told me she was going to run the Sydney Half Marathon that Sunday. Bizarrely this seemed like a good idea so the following day I persuaded Rod to do it with me and we both signed up. It did seem a little naïve to attempt such a feat for the first time with zero training but I do consider myself quite fit these days and what better way to test this claim with a race which starts on the Harbour Bridge and finishes at the Opera House?
Predictably it was a perfect morning as Sydney woke with clear blue skies. The starters gun was at 6.30am so I was literally up at crack of dawn to get to north Sydney in time. I’d set myself a target of doing the race in under 2hours. Reasoned by if I was ever to do a whole marathon I would like to do it in 4hours so if can’t do the half in 2 I should forget it. With no training I had no idea if this was realistic so for the first 4 KM I following the two hour pacer but quickly got bored and upped the pace a bit hoping not see him pass me in the closing stages. They didn’t have any clocks and very few distance sign up so I had no idea how fast I was going and it wasn’t till the 17km marker that I decided to go for it (hence most of the photos are at the end where I’m pushing like crazy). Coming up to the finish line and seeing 1.45 I was delighted with my performance…… would I do it all again you bet ya!!!!

So there I am just completed my first half marathon 15mins quicker than I thought would and I’m sitting outside on a beautiful day with a cold beer in my hand as I glace to the left I see the harbour bridge and on my right is the Opera House - Moment of clarity….. this why I live here!!!! What a perfect day and I can’t imagine any other city would I be so fit and where it would be so easy to take part in such an event at short notice!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

slow moslow mo
slow mo

The Hoff would be proud


21st September 2006

Stu, I am so proud of you, well done. Sounds like your officially a sydneysider...
21st September 2006

Natural Highs!
Im so proud of you!
6th October 2006

Well done Crosbie. Looked like a bit of a lung buster!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb