Waiting


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 17th 2014
Published: March 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I’ve now been in Sydney for 37 days. I can’t leave for another two weeks at least, seeing as I got abnormal readings on a blood test which apparently need to be checked. That will mean by the end, I will have been in Sydney for about 2 months out of my 6 months off. Wow. I never would have thought that. In fact, I would have found the mere thought depressing if I was told that at the start. The rhythm of my trip is long gone, although I should say I’m not unhappy, as I feel quite relaxed and am happy to be feeling healthy again. There is a feeling of being stuck, however. I’m here not because I choose to be, but because I have to be. And this 6 month break was supposed to be all about freedom, and doing what I choose.

One positive to take out of it is that when I finally do head overseas, there’ll be a buzz again. I mean, you value something more when you work for it, and staying in Sydney this long will make me feel like I earned that next part of my trip, that’s for sure. And there'll be no excuse for failing to put together a decent plan. Speaking of which, given I'm on a fairly specific diet at the moment due to health issues, what's the best way to cook whilst travelling overseas?! At the moment I've got these ideas:

- couchsurfing. Not sure if I'd like this. I need that freedom. And I like the surety of having that hotel or hostel booking confirmed on a piece of paper, not relying on someone I've never met to be a good spirit. Still, it is an option.

- travelling kitchen, that is, literally bring pots and an electric hotplate in my suitcase. Seems like it would pose a few difficulties: 1) the extra weight when checking in luggage, 2) the extra space needed in suitcase, 3) the hotel would still need a decent sink, and a kettle for hot water, 4) I'd be concerned whether it's even allowed by the hotel to cook a massive pot of lentils for an hour inside the room?

- hostels with a kitchen and appliances. Not a terrible idea and something I'd do well to look into. One downside is that the Philippines doesn't really have many hostels, so if that's my destination it may not work. I stayed in one in Boracay but they didn't have a kitchen if that's any indication.

I can do muesli for breakfast and eat out once a day, so it's really only that one meal per day where I'd be cooking pasta/lentils/tuna/rice.

This might seem all over-analytical but it was a genuine problem last time I travelled, and an even bigger one once I got sick and had to watch what I ate. At the end of the day, no matter where you are in the world, you've still got to eat three times a day. And when you come down with something like I have, sometimes you've got to be pretty specific about what those meals are as they're rarely on offer at regular restaurants and stores. Not only that, but where you choose to eat will unavoidably colour your trip quite significantly. There's a massive difference in feel between cooking your own stuff from the nearby supermarket, eating at a fast food chain or getting in with the locals at a streetside haunt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb