Sojourns in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 27th 2012
Published: February 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Listen for the BirdsListen for the BirdsListen for the Birds

This alleyway is now home to these empty birdcages, complete with bird song recordings!
Every now and again, we escape the country to get a taste of city life.

We've vowed to escape the country at least once per school term, but in the busy summer months we had a few more trips planned for engagement parties, weddings, and other events.

Escaping to the city means shopping, eating, more shopping and more eating. And people watching. Sitting at cafés while eating after lots of shopping, watching the people go by. And relishing in the ease of walking everywhere to soak in this excitement of the hustle and bustle. I look forward to trips to Sydney to go shopping. I never thought I would enjoy shopping so much, and while I still hate it, there are only so many stores in Orange. So if I want certain things (including necessities like eyeglasses), I buy them on my trips to Sydney.

I miss living in a city. I miss the excitement, the hustle and bustle, the public transport, the ability to walk everywhere in the centre, the abundance of ethnicity of foods to try, the bars (country towns have pubs, not bars!), the festivals and events, the public art displays, the crazy fashions, the
Jones Bay WharfJones Bay WharfJones Bay Wharf

A view of the Harbour Bridge from Pyrmont
people watching, etc. Don't get me wrong - living in the country certainly has its merits: Orange is quiet, pretty, great spot to eat locally produced food (especially the fantastic produce and amazing restaurants), we can see stars from our house at night, there are no skyscrapers to block our sunset views, we don't sit in traffic for hours every day, we don't have to listen to the constant noise of traffic or breathe in the toxic smog that many cities deal with, etc.

But I still miss city life. I loved stepping out my front door into the craziness of it all. It was an assault on the senses and it was great for the creative mind. It was great to easily meet others with similar interests and viewpoints. I am a bit bored in the country at times....hence our escapes to Sydney.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mooney in ActionMooney in Action
Mooney in Action

Michael Mooney in concert
Jacaranda blossomsJacaranda blossoms
Jacaranda blossoms

Spring in Sydney means these pretty purple blossoms are everywhere!
New atop OldNew atop Old
New atop Old

Fun mixes of architecture


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb