Back to Oz!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 26th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

a couple of Sydney iconsa couple of Sydney iconsa couple of Sydney icons

The Sydney Harbour Bridge & the Sydney Opera House in the background
Well I am almost home and it is a bit of a tease being so close but yet still another 4.5hour flight away from all the things familiar.. but absolutely awesome to hear that English is now the first language spoken and I can understand everything around me.

I had my big bit of steak and have gorged myself stupid after realizing that I REALLY did miss the food that we have back at home!.. London just doesn’t quite compare with the meat quality we have here in Australia (unless you want to spend several pounds more on organic things that really cost a fortune) and I am a little over rice and potatoes being the staple diet…as much as I do love them!

My time in Sydney is pretty much time to see family and catch up with what has been happening over the last couple of years. The last time I was over on the Eastern side of Oz was 4 years ago for a family reunion up the coast of NSW in Port Macquarie and a roadtrip down the coast that eventuated after. Not much has really changed and it was great to check out the sights as a tourist, because when you live in a place the sights that people travel the world to visit are really just a backdrop to what you know and take for granted for being there.

For the first few days I stayed with my Grandfather and got to know him for who he is now and check out what he gets up to on his daily routine. We visited several RSL and Leagues clubs that he frequents and no matter how old I am actually getting I still do feel like his grandaughter, which is a pretty special thing. For the rest of the time I stayed at my aunty's house, a place that I spent so much time as kid running around with my cousin. It was great to see everyone as they are now all grown up, married or with kids and heading with my cousin Mark for a couple of nights into the city. I unfortunately missed two weddings in the last year but was awesome to see the photos and see how things are getting on.

While staying at my aunty's house I spent a bit of time with our eldest cousin Liarne
hee hee... please pay off my credit card!hee hee... please pay off my credit card!hee hee... please pay off my credit card!

am glad we dont have pokies in WA.. cause i would be hooked on them for sure!
and her two kids, Edward and Elizabeth, who have grown up so much since last seeing them!.. and strange to hear them with a slight twang in their Australian accent, as they have spent 12 months living in the states before coming back to Oz.

It was also great to catch up with a friend that I met in London, Dave. I met Dave through Jim (the other Aussie that I worked with in London) ... we had a cool night out when in London checking out Xavier Rudd live, but this time round we headed out for a day around the Rocks area and the Sydney Harbour with Mark and his new wife Jo. Throughout my time in Sydney I also ventured a little further out by train to my Grandparents house in Tamworth, the Country Music Capital of Australia... there will be photos from this little trip next up. All in all, I had a great time in Sydney and a huge thanks to Pop & Bethel for having me while I was there!.. and to all the rest for the daily excursions and time outs to catch up at night!... hopefully it won't take another 4
Me and my cousin Mark.....Me and my cousin Mark.....Me and my cousin Mark.....

at the beginning of the night!
years before we catch up again for another beverage!







Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

the Opera House and one of the Sydney Ferriesthe Opera House and one of the Sydney Ferries
the Opera House and one of the Sydney Ferries

the dark skies at the beginning of the day moved on to reveal sunny skies later in the afternoon... fantastic!
Us being goofballs with the Opera House in the backgroundUs being goofballs with the Opera House in the background
Us being goofballs with the Opera House in the background

from left to right.... me and Dave (about to end up in the water), Mark and Jo.
and another silly one... and another silly one...
and another silly one...

Mark's too cool for this one though!
Opera House up closeOpera House up close
Opera House up close

and the blue skies appear!


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb