Journal Day 39 - Arriving in Sydney. What day is it? Yesterday or tomorrow?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 16th 2011
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Sydney airport and helped my new Pakistani mate Shahrukh to get his connecting flight onto Melbourne.
Got to know the guy quite well as we'd talked for the whole 9 hour flight. I never even knew I could converse with another human for that long. But he was good company and it make the flight go by in a flash. We wished each other well and we parted ways.

I went back into the main terminal. I hadn't really thought about where stay in Sydney.
Without having to use much of my brain which was feeling a bit numb I went to the nearest bookshop in the airport turned to the wisdom of the 'lonely planet Australia' travel guide. Australia was the only one for my itinerary that I haven't already bought. I considered buying this one but decided that the weight of even one more book in my ruck-sack would break my back. So just looked at it enough to get my bearings and decide which hostel heavy part of Sydney to head to.

Got the bus into into the centre of Sydney and got off in the area of King's cross which is scattered with backpacker hostels.

I'd been awake for nearly 2 days now. Probably my own fault for conversing with people the whole time of both flights. But met interesting people. Knackered.

All the hostels seemed to have only large backpacker dorm rooms or else double rooms for $95-100.
I'd got pretty used to getting a big bedroom with a double bed, air-conditioning and an en-suite for $10-20. Fancied a room to myself for an epic sleep and eventually found the Kanga hostel which had one single room for $35 a night. The receptionist, Chris, an English guy who turned out to be a decent fella, did warn me when I asked.... "when I say small, I mean, like, small.'

I went to check it out and it was tiny. It stank quite a bit too. I considered the dorm. There was one with only one other person in, a friendly girl from Germany who I talked to a little. But turned out the dorms still had to be cleaned. They weren't much cheaper anyway and I was tired so decided to get the tiny box room for myself. Turned out it didn't matter how bad the place stank anyway, I slept like a baby.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb