My week in Sydney :)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 25th 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I think its about time I did my blog about my week in Sydney staying with my amazing (tour guide) cousin Peta 😊
I arrived in Sydney fairly late on the Monday after the most horrific flight from Melbourne, honestly for anyone who hates flying this flight might have just pushed you over the edge... luckily I love flying so for me it was just a bit to rough.
Anyway, I collected all my bags etc then went in search of Peta who I knew would be waiting outside somewhere... little worrying seeing as there were cars everywhere, people coming from all directions and I hadn't got any way of contacting her... luckily we spotted each other and all was fine.

So as I said, it was a bit late but we decided to go for a drive round.. we drove over the famous harbor bridge where you could see the opera house and circular quay, it was so incredible for me to think I was actually looking over one of the most photographed places in the world, a place most people dream of seeing. I was just amazed!!
After that we headed to Darling Harbor which again is just the most beautiful places i've been, the city looked stunning, it was lit up so brightly and the reflection just glittered across the water.
We went to one of the bars along the waters edge for a drink and just sat talking for a while, a great start to my time in Sydney.
To top the night off, Peta took me to Harry's Cafe which is an iconic sydney cafe, world famous it seems when I looked through the photos on the wall of all the famous people who had eaten there. I had the very traditional pie which even had the mushy peas on top 😊 lovely!!!
As you can imagine... busy day so we decided to call it a night, headed back to her place which is only a 20 minute walk from the city. Was shown my room and bathroom.. I had a double bed which i was excited about 😊

The next day Peta had work so I walked down into the city to have a wonder around. The main street "george street" is the equivalent of our oxford/regent street (although they have got an oxford street... which is just a little street in the city)
I walked probably about 3/4 of the way down the street.. even found the sydney apple store (for those who no me well enough you can imagine how excited I was) I walked round lots of the clothes shops and sat down near the town hall just admiring my surroundings. Was a great moment for me!! I treated myself to some cafe food.. yum! Then walked all the way back to Peta's place which is conveniently right near a McDonalds 😊
I had only been home 5 minutes when Peta came home from work. We sat down for half hour to relax then walked back down to the city to china town where we had a great chinese meal, reminded me of being in asia with everyone coming up to you asking if you'd come take a seat in there restaurant!! The meal was good to!!
We took another walk to darling harbor so i could take some photos as the night before i hadn't unpacked my camera. i can't wait to put the photos up cause this place is just breathe taking.
Walked around for a while, bumped into a few of Petas friends then walked back home, stopping off at McDonalds for a hot fudge sunday which I am in love with and can't believe we can't get them in the UK anymore - they were my fav!
We sat down and watched a bit of TV - good old Sex and the City... then headed to bed.

Early start the next day (I say early... but normal time for most people) I went into work with Peta, she works right in Bondi Junction so 10 minutes bus from Bondi beach and 5 min walk to the shops.. perfect.
I decided to go into the city again but go see the opera house and harbor bridge a bit closer. I caught the train in to the city and walked down to circular quay. On the train I realised how much better the sydney transport system is than anywhere at home! The trains ran on time, they were double decker so obviously could fit more people in and they were clean!
I got to circular quay and I couldn't believe the view I had in front of me... on my left I had the harbor bridge and to the right was the opera house!!
As i started walking closer I could hear some really funky techno music coming from somewhere - just round the corner was an aboriginal man in traditional clothes and paintings playing the didgeree doo over a backing track, it was quality. I sat for ages listening to the tracks, shame he had ran out of cd's.
A few minutes walk later I reached the steps of the opera house!!! I could not believe I was actually there, I felt like such a tourist and I didn't care. Its just the most creative architecture ever! If you ever get to travel to Sydney this is like the right of passage! You have to see it! I walked up to the botanical gardens to get a better view and some photos which I think might be printed off and covering my room when I get home.
After that I dragged myself away back to george street where I bumped into Kitty and Naomi from my Whitsunday's boat trip, crazy!! Had a chat with them for a while then walked back to the station and back to Bondi Junction.
That was it for the day as that night we had a lazy one and watched some movies 😊 perfect.

The following day I went back into Bondi with Peta and had a proper walk round Bondi Junction, loads of shops and a huge food court where we had lunch with some other family who I had never met before. Very small world! I headed off on my own after that to do some shopping, bought some small souvenirs then went back to sit at Petas work as I hadn't been feeling 100%
That night we went to see a friends gig at a bar called "hot lips" which was good fun, after that myself, peta and her friend went to Unas!! A family recommendation - a german restaurant which serves the largest portions of chicken schnitzel ever!!! Was so yum!!! Then headed to kings cross for a walk round all the bars and clubs there etc.. got started on by some door man for talking photos because apparently taking photos in kings cross is illegal.. according to the police just across the road however, that man was off his head and didn't no what he was talking about!
We headed home, dropped Petas friend home then quickly stopped at some great spot to take some photos of the city.

Friday came so quickly, i couldn't believe it was my last day!! I went to Bondi Beach for most of the day as its again another must see place. Was stunning actually. I just walked up and down the beach a few times admiring the beach and knowing that the next 2 weeks in New Zealand were going to be beach free and cold!! Had a hot chocolate and watched some skaters in one of the skate parks before heading back to Petas work.
That evening we went over to Petas auntys for dinner where I met my other cousin Damon who is Justine and Peta's brother (all very confusing), Peta's grandmother was there to.. who is another family member.
It was a great meal and I was sad knowing it was my last night in Aussie but a great way to finish my time there.

So that was that! My 2 and a bit months of living down under 😊 I loved every second of it!!
Now to New Zealand followed by Fiji 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb