How to start the year off...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 21st 2005
Published: January 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sydney Harbour - New year's EveSydney Harbour - New year's EveSydney Harbour - New year's Eve

Sunset over Sydney harbour prior to the New Year celebrations.
Ok, firstly apologies for my very delayed blog update but unlike last time when it was due to laziness, this time the reason could not be further from my natural lethargic tendencies and is in reality due to the fact that since arriving here in Australia my life has been incredibly hectic.

To summarise... I flew into Sydney on New Year’s Eve and thanks to Mark had a ticket to experience the New year’s celebrations on a boat moored in Sydney harbour, which has got to be the ultimate in New Year’s parties - Thanks Mark. What was also amazing about that day (and the rest of my time here in Oz) was how incredibly lucky I have been. I arrived in Sydney in the morning of New Year’s Eve unfortunately without anywhere to stay, as all the places I had previously emailed for accommodation were full. It’s a bit of a long story (and one which I will tell in full when I return) but the conclusion was that after being laughed at by the girls on the accommodation desk at the airport (it was pretty daft to ask if anything was available on the biggest night of the
New Year's Eve FireworksNew Year's Eve FireworksNew Year's Eve Fireworks

The fireworks... and we were on a boat in the middle of it.
year in Sydney) I actually ended up with the best digs in the Kirribilli area of Sydney (which is the prime real estate area for the city) and about 100m from the Prime Minister’s residency - I figure I must have built up a few karmic plus points in the past.

So after the New Year’s Eve festivities which were incredible, (even if my very poor pictures don’t show it), it was then a day of sightseeing before jumping aboard a tour up the East Coast, and this is were the hectic lifestyle I have been leading really started. In the last 3 weeks I have been travelling, sightseeing, snorkelling, surfing, sailing, and generally having a fantastic time all the way up the East Coast to Cairns.
Highlights of this part of the trip have to be; tandem skydiving from 14,000ft, snorkelling and diving on the Great Barrier Reef, experiencing the tropical paradise of the Whitsunday Islands and partying most nights with a great bunch of people.
Talking of the skydiving, which has got to be the most intense experience I have ever had (with my clothes on), I do have a DVD of the event as well although
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!

Which translated means 'I've just jumped out of a perfectly good areoplane at 14,000 feet'. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!
it may be rated as 18+ as (although any voice sound is completely blocked out by the noise of the rushing air) you do not have to be a proficient lip reading to know what my exclamation is as we jump out of a perfectly good aircraft !

Right, it’s now onto another plane and I am definitely staying strapped in my seat until we reach Alice Springs for a journey from the centre up the Northern Territory.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

And now....And now....
And now....

I'm hurtling at terminal velocity towards the ground.... backwards ! Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!!
Did you know....Did you know....
Did you know....

You can see our house from here...


12th February 2005

Thanks for making sure I was sitting down when I found out you'd thrown yourself out of an airplane. I thought we were clear you keep your seatbelt fastened at all times!!! Missing you loads kidda S xx - Sis

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb