New Year's in Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 1st 2006
Published: January 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

Crowds waiting for the New Years Fireworks (15:00PM)
I always knew that I wanted to spend the New Year's celebrations in Sydney, if at all possible. I ended up staying in Newcastle with Carina till the 31st of December, when we left Newcastle at 8:00AM. We got to Sydney at around 11, and met up with Jon - one of the Canadians I had met at the hostel in Canberra! We made our way to the Botanical Gardens (with large bags of food). We got there at around 13:00, and the place was already packed! The doors to the area closed at 15:00, and after that nobody was allowed to enter anymore. Which means all the people who wanted to witness the Sydney Harbour Fireworks firsthand had to stay in the enclosed area ALL DAY!
Even though many of the Australians I had spoken to thought I was crazy to want to throw myself into that sea of people, I really enjoyed my day there! There was a good atmosphere the whole day, and it was fun just talking and relaxing in the grass. Maybe I just had really good company.
At 21:00 there was a small firework show for kids (what a great idea!) and
SydneySydneySydney

Boats in Sydney Harbour
that got the crowd extremely excited (and very drunk - as we saw as we sat there, watching drunken staggering from numerous passers-by. The fireworks at midnight were incredible! I remember seeing them on television back home, but it was amazing to actually be there and see them first-hand! Afterwards, we laughed about the fact that we had seen 11 minutes of fireworks after an 11 hour wait. I definitely recommend Sydney for New Years for anyone with the opportunity to see it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SydneySydney
Sydney

Fireworks (my camera didn't do well...)


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb