First Weekend, New Home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday morning i checked out of my room and checked back in. I opened the door and gagged. It smelt like something had died. I claimed a bed and headed up to the pool where Lee rung me asking if i wanted to go to the Aquarium. It was raining so i got wet walking down to Darling Harbour where the Aquarum is.

Inside the Aquarium is Australian sea creatures. They had the biggest Sting Ray ive ever seen. We went on a boat above one of the shark tanks and fed the fish.

I went back to Paddys Market in China Town again and strolled around that for a while.

In the evening we had a meal cooked by Dave who is a traveller and chef. It was chicken and pasta in a herby cream sauce and sat around chatting until midnight.

Reluctantly i walked back to my room waiting for the smell to hit me again...and it did. I changed the time on my mobile as the clocks went forward and set the alarm for 8am. Had a chat with a bloke from Leeds and then went to sleep.

Sunday i checked out of the hostel and grabbed a train to Kings Cross where i found my new and current home, 'Mates Place'. It could do with some refurbishments like paint, new carpets and chairs, plaster to fill the holes in the walls etc etc but its a very social hostle and i like it. Everyones cool in my room which is amazing.

After i dumped my stuff i went on a mission. First stop was the Opera House and i walked there through the Botanical Gardens where there was a load of bats hanging in the trees. I went on the Essential Tour' of the Opera House and saw inside the concert hall and other performing venues. Its pretty special.

Once done i walked to 'The Rocks' which is the oldest part of Sydney where i explored the street market, went in Cadmans Cottage - a very old building and had a burger from a cafe.

I walked along the Harbours Edge and stopped to watch some street performers such as Aboriginals playing the digeridoo and a women climbing in a very small box and shutting herself inside.

I continued my many hours of walking and headed for Hyde Park Barracks Museum which was used to house convicts in its earlier days.

At last walking back to Kings Cross there were some strange noises and thats when i noticed a load of cockatoos on top of a lampost. So i whipped my camera out a took a few pictures.

For dinner i had pie, mash and peas in a box and then spent the evening in my room drinking wine and playing cards with my new roomies.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb