Day 2 in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On my second day in Sydney, I walked all over Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Chinese Friendship Garden and went to the Sydney Aquarium and the Powerhouse Museum. I was exhausted by the time I got back to my hotel so was too tired to go back out in the evening. Fortunately, I had gone to a great little market around the corner and bought some fresh fruit, cheese, and other delicious treats. I also picked up a great local Cabernet Sauvignon - Saltram Wine Estate's Maker's Table. The Aquarium was fantastic. They had amazing shark tanks and reef exhibits with a huge variety of marine life. The Powerhouse Museum had a design exhibit that was interesting and they have a replica of the Strasbourg Clock made by an Australian (which is about 1/6 the size of the original). He made it based on a postcard and some books, but never actually saw the clock. Everyone is so friendly here and it's been really easy to get around.

Shout out to Bruce's brother, Dan, for checking in on me regularly and offering great advice/suggestions.

The Australian white ibis - big white birds with the long black beak are everywhere - and, apparently, can be quite a nuisance:

"In some schools, the teachers train children how not to be intimidated by ibis. Otherwise the birds have been known to run up to the little kids and snatch their sandwiches out of their hands. The birds turn over bins and spread rubbish, hang around cafes, and dominate some of the best nesting spots that might have been used by other species."

I'm keeping my sandwiches under wraps!

Tomorrow I am going to work in the morning and head to Manly Beach on the ferry in the afternoon. Too cold for swimming, but should be great for walking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



12th August 2008

Ohhh La La...
Sounds great so far. I love all the photos!! You are ON THE GO for sure!! Cheers to your ADVENTURE!!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb