My Homestay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 8th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have been staying at a home stay in the neighborhood, Stanmore, in Sydney. I live in a two bedroom flat with a nice lady named Ruth. She makes delicious meals, always with a lot of veggies and they tend to be primarily Asian dishes. The most common meat she makes is lamb, quite different than chicken which I am used to, but it's growing on me. One big difference in the kitchen is the amount of food in the refrigerator. There are usually only basics which she will cook the next day or two. So I have been snacking a lot less. Although, I think I am gaining a little bit of weight, since she is making big servings and thinks I am too skinny.

It is winter here, but the coldest it gets is the 30s, which is unbearable for most people here. It usually around the upper 40s to mid 50s. There is no central heating, just space heaters, so I have to bundle up to stay warm when I go to sleep. It is a bit funny to me that the weather outside is so cold, yet, they open their windows at home and where I work. So, when I walk to the bus or train I am fine in my coat, but when I am home relaxing I am always cold, where Ruth thinks it's odd I get so cold inside.

The neighborhood is convenient since it is only a 20 minute bus ride with a five minute walk to a busy bus stop or 10 minute train ride to downtown Sydney. There are many shops and public transportation is fairly easy so I am finding it nice to not have the financial restraint of a car. Gas prices here are even worse than the U.S. it is about $1.63 per liter which is about $6.50 per gallon, so I am loving public transportation. The neighborhood itself is pretty nice despite all the graffiti on the walls and bars on the windows of our flat. We have a nice little backyard and a park is one side. I thought it might be hard to only have a little of my belongings, but I am finding that I do enjoy having less things and a simpler life.

Overall, I am happy with my home stay it's nothing special but it is everything I need, I do not have any complaints. I am enjoying living in the city and being so close to everything. Sydney is quite larger than La Crosse and Milwaukee; it has a population of close to 4 million. There are always things to do from visiting parks and beaches to museums, zoos, events, shops, and markets. I only have four more weeks in this lovely city and although I feel I have done so much, there is a lot left to see!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

ToiletToilet
Toilet

Bathrooms are more commonly called Toilets.
Shared BackyardShared Backyard
Shared Backyard

Dryers are rare, so all I hang all my clothes to dry. Works pretty well, I just have to do a little more ironing and it takes 2-3 days to dry with the winter weather.
My RoomMy Room
My Room

This is my 'closet' and dresser and my TV (first TV I have ever had in my room).


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb