Sexy Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 30th 2005
Published: November 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Take me down to the paradise city where the sand is golden and the girls pretty…. Oh lets this make this place home.

Over the past year I’ve spent so much time deliberating on the pros and cons of living in oz that it was a warm relief to touch down on the land for the first time. Despite all the forms to fill in it was a warm reception by immigration, who must see a few hundred working holiday visa a day. Quarantine was slightly more obscure and an early introduction to paranoia that Australians seem to drown themselves in.

Straight off the flight I headed to Karen and Rods place (who have been kind enough to put me up for almost a month!). Dumped my stuff and headed to the races. As I was only just finding out gambling is deeply embedded to every element of society here. 1pm on my first day and I was necking the bubbly and betting on horses surrounded by glamorous girls with hats to match …. Fantastic!!!! Sydney just really has the weather… not to worry about the weather - so there’s never the ‘what if the weather is bad’ which just means that there’s more things on more people doing stuff - everywhere you go people are running, cycling, pole-vaulting etc etc…. Although my honeymoon was brought to an end after a week as every week seemed to have few days which were not beach worthy!!!

Thankfully the weather remained sunny for my second weekend outing, Jazz in the Vines. Held in Hunter Valley which is the nearest wine growing region to Sydney, Jazz in the vines is in a big field and is full of Sydney escapees and their picnic paraphernalia. We drank and danced before the sun set and we retired to our three bed log cabin which was literally in the middle of nowhere. The next day was spent visiting the local vin yards tasting their wines and cheeses. Wine tasting is actually a little bit of a dangerous activity, starting with just a few samples can easily turn into you being half cut and deciding that you need to invest in a crate of fine wines. Although it’s really nice to have this almost French option to get out of the city and it’s also very cheap!!!

So I’ve had over a month in
foodfoodfood

we thought we were flash with chairs
Oz…….. and let me tell you there is no surprise that Australians abbreviate their country to two letters in fact the only surprise is that it is not Oz’o. The English dialect here seems to have mutated so that any amount of letters can be replaced with ‘o’ as a suffix. That means that words like antidisestablishmentarianism…… if ever used is more likely pronounced ant’o’.
However the pros far our weigh the cons….. which is a strange thing to say about a nation of convicts.

**News Flash**

My permanent future has also been secured here with a role at a bank which will sponsor me…. Great news and it’s exactly what I wanted except what do they expect me to do for first two weeks…. Go to London!!! That’s right I now have the life perfect weather apartment with a pool, spa and five mins from the beach and what do they expect me to do….. return for the British winter
So adios folks, that’s my travelling coming to an end - I’ll probably see some of you back in London before returning to my beach life



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

musicmusic
music

great spot to dance
BBQBBQ
BBQ

breakfast
wine tastingwine tasting
wine tasting

just the one more...


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb